Lisa Mette & Steen

From: Denmark

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Germany, Greece, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/09/2018 - 15/09/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Crazy - some people would say. Leaving our house, belongings and worklife, as we have known it so far, behind. Nevertheless we have decided to take a leap of faith.
    Who are we?
    Steen - a great Dane, who likes a good laugh, enjoys working with his hands and plays the drums. A quick learner and a hard worker.
    Lisa Mette - a mix of Danish and Dutch dna. Easy going, sociable, a quick learner but still not afraid of using power tools and getting muddy hands.
    Kylja - a 13 year old Icelandic sheepdog, who is very gentle, loves being where we are and normally curls up to sleep nearby. A quick learner and loves football :-)
    We are basically seeking to learn more about sustainable living, permaculture and community building as well as cultural exchange. We believe that volunteering would be a good way to gain experience, get to know people and see parts of the world, we have never been to.
    In the summer of 2018 we volunteered at a permacultural farm at Svanholm in Denmark. Helping to build a straw bale house. We spent 12 days there, working hard with 9 other volunteers. It was fun, interesting and broadened our horizons in this field of work.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Carpentry, plastering, gardening, basic bricklaying.
    Past experience:
    Steen: is a self employed handyman. Has worked in many different fields - looking after handicapped people, working at harbours, working with children.
    Hobbies: music - has played the drums and the piano since he was 12 years old in different bands in Denmark. Hiking, outdoor life.
    Lisa Mette: a social worker, working with refugees, drug addicts and in social psychiatry, as well as management. Hobbies: kayaking, horse riding, hiking.
    Kylja: very obedient, good football player, very quiet and gentle.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish, English, Dutch, very basic French, very basic German

  • Age

    49 & 51

  • What else ...

    We are the parents of two lovely grown up daughters. One of them has been travelling the world for 4½ years and the other is living in DK.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Wheat

    • Special dietary requirements
      Lisa Mette doesn't eat wheat

Photos

Feedback