Juanita & Arrow

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2019 - 09/10/2019


  • Description

    Hello! My name is Juanita and my Partners name is Arrow. I am from Canada and Arrow is from Ireland. We met in Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta, Canada, approximately 2 years ago. Arrow was visiting Canada on a working holiday visa, and we crossed paths when we applied and got jobs at the same resort, for the next year and a half we worked and traveled across Canada together. Arrows Canadian working holiday visa expired so we packed up our bags and came to New Zealand! We have been working in Auckland for 3 months, and with our contracts expiring soon we plan to see more of what NZ has to offer. Arrow has used Workaway before while in Canada and believes it is a great way to meet new people, and on top of that a great way to experience different parts of the country.
    A little bit about ourselves; Arrow has successfully completed a leisure management diploma from Ireland. Which included white water kayaking, orienteering, mountaineering, and other outdoor activities. Growing up in the Irish country side and near a lake, he is a strong swimmer, (has a lifeguard cert) and genuinely enjoys the outdoors. He works hard and is always willing to lend a hand. I grew up in Edmonton, the capital of Alberta, Canada. it is a nice city, however, i did not have much space to explore the outdoors. I am excited to learn about gardening, growing fruits and vegetables, taking care of animals, etc. i went to a camp as a teenager, from 11-17 and it was based on a ranch. Each year was a different star level, we went from walking as young-lings, bare back riding up coulies as we grew older, to volunteering and teaching the younglings to ride as we had learned when we first started. I am confident when riding horses, I can brush, put on a saddle, put on the reigns etc, so if there are horses on your land, i can definitely help out! i also played competitive soccer growing up and there still some muscle memory build up, so i don't mind helping out outside with maintenance and such. I love cooking and learning/adding new recipes to my repertoire, I usually cook and Arrow enjoys, then does the dishes! (works well for both of us, as he doesn't mind dishes, and I don't mind cooking) Arrow and I both have done volunteer work. Arrow volunteered for cub scouts in Ireland where he taught 8 to 12 year old's basic Kayaking skills. and I volunteered with a local (Edmonton) foster care group. I grew up in foster care, so when i was 18-20. We advocated for the adoption of aboriginal youth- like myself!
    If you have any questions please get in touch, we would love to set up a skype chat!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Cooking (Arrow- in a chef environment, Me- homecooking)
    Waitress/chef - Excellent time management skills
    Animal care/horse riding - I am experienced in horse riding/handling. we both love dogs.
    General Housework, Arrow is very tidy and reminds me when I should pick up my work shirts from the corner..!
    Baby sitting - While my mother was in Europe on a month long cruise, Arrow and I took care of her 3 Foster children aged 5,7 and 9.
    Teaching - I helped the children with their math as well as other class subjects, Arrow taught the eldest boy how to ride a bike!
    Maintenance - Arrow is pretty handy, enjoyed helping out his dad with woodworking/building.
    Construction - Arrow worked in construction for over a year ( brick masonry)
    Computer/office - I have good all round computer skills, typing, composing letters etc. hence why this was my job. Arrow can if he has to.
    Gardening - I would love to have my own garden one day, and i'm very hands on about learning. Arrow has worked in a garden center, potting plants, pruning etc. also has experience using chainsaws, hedge cutters, weed wackers.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    24 & 28

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback