Sarah

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/01/2018 - 19/11/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi! I'm originally from Milwaukee, Wisconsin but I have been travelling around the U.S. (and just a little bit outside of it) quite a bit the past three years.
    When I created this account my main goal was to to learn about plants, herbalism, mycology, growing food, farming, and community; how to be a human being living in and benefiting a community. How to be a human being in general?

    This is still true, but what really fuels me is a desire for experience, movement, energy exchange, to meet people, see how people live in different places, spaces and cultures, to feel what it's like to be in a different part of the world, feel at home in a foreign place, and learn! I think I am happiest when I have a good teacher to learn from. Social interaction and human connection are very important to me, and I get so much more out of an experience when it is shared. I'm not as good as I wish I was at googling things, especially when there's a human being around to show me things in person, and answer my questions.

    Two years ago I went with a friend to a permaculture event on the Pine Ridge reservation in South Dakota. It was my first time learning about and taking part in anything permaculture. I still feel like I know almost nothing about it, but since then my fascination and desire to learn more about it has grown. (I especially liked learning about cobb houses and rockets stoves!)

    Overall I'm hoping to gain as much experience and knowledge as I possibly can in order to better understand myself and the things that already interest me, and to discover new things to be fascinated and excited enough about to incorporate into my life (:

    I really enjoy making art, usually with watercolor or linoleum but creation is creation, and sometimes destruction is creation, and I have a lot of fun building and fixing things as well.

    The longest I have stayed somewhere doing work exchange has been about 6 months. The shortest, about a week. I have a cattle dog/border collie mix puppy, named Haku, who I am hoping to bring with me on future travels, and I'm currently half way through massage school and if all goes well I will be a licensed massage therapist by October 2020! (:

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Fluent in German
    Love cooking
    Very good at asking questions.
    As long as i have a good teacher, I am capable of and enjoy learning just about anything (:

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Age

    24

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback