Gareth

  • Ireland
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    Activities i am interested in:

    Kayaking, Reading, Music

  • Description

    I'm 27 from Ireland. I have wanted to travel for many years but I keep putting it off because I have always made excuses (I need more money, its too dangerous/scary, I need to focus on working etc.) Then boom, out of nowhere Covid 19 brought the world to a standstill and after spending over a year in lockdown, I now find myself needing to travel. I've felt for many years that I wont truly know myself until I can spend some time traveling alone. I have a great curiosity about living a self sufficient way of life and there seems to be an abundance of hosts here doing just that. I have done the life for years but I now need to see what else is out there. I am seeking knowledge of myself and the world and to do my part to spread joy where I can and I hope to meet many others who seek the same.
    I am not afraid of hard work. I am strong and healthy so manual labor will not be a problem for me. I also have excellent customer service skills as I have been working in this area for years.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Videography
    Photography
    Blogging
    Cooking & food
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am a gym instructor, lifeguard and swimming teacher. I have been teaching young children to swim for 2 years. I recently started teaching exercise classes also. I have been in customer service roles for over 4 years now. In my free time I have taught myself some guitar and a little music production using a digital audio workstation. I have learned some video production also and would be comfortable making content for social media should it be required. I enjoy outdoor work like gardening, weeding, lawn mowing/trimming, chopping firewood etc. I prefer to be physically tired after a days work than mentally tired. I am a quick learner and I am comfortable working on my own after I am sure I know how to complete the task at hand. I would also be happy to care for animals as I enjoy spending time in their company.

    I have recently spent the month of October 2021 working/volunteering in a top rated hostel in Budapest Hungary where I received many compliments on my work ethic and attitude towards customer service.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    I am a very empathetic and open person. I am a little lost and I'm finding it difficult to find my place in the world. I would like to see a different future for myself which is why I'm interested in learning from people who are living the lifestyle that I envision. I would like to try something more to life than working a job, going home , watching TV, going to bed and then doing it all again the next day. To me that is not living, it is surviving and I want for us all to do more than simply survive and I believe it is possible. I am very conscious of how quickly time is passing so I would like to make this limited time as fulfilling as possible for me and those I come in contact with. Its now or never :)

    Thank you for reading.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No.

Friends

Photos

Feedback