Gemma & Amy

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, El Salvador, Guatemala, India, Mexico, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/02/2017 - 30/08/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi, my name is Gemma - 25 from the UK. My profession in England was a radiographer particularly working with children. I have now been on the road for about 2 years! & had many amazing experiences learning many new skills! Teaching English, working in bars, bar manager music festival in panama, farm & gardening, chickens, building with bamboo & general surviving at times!
    My Spanish is now pretty good but always learning more everyday!!!
    I am easy going but hard working ! Love to meet new like minded people and share our stories! - I feel very connected to the nature and love to learn anything new with permaculture, medicinal plants, i spend a lot of time camping and trying to escape from the tourism to get to know more of the locals in the country. Currently studying yoga & writing poems, & of course the Latin American dances salsa merengue.... I love!
    *️*️*️currently travelling alone*️*️*️
    Hi, my name is Amy Williams, I am 26 & from England.
    I am a caring, active fun loving, easy going girl whose enthusiastic about taking up new challenges and has a love for music, dancing, animals and being outdoors.
    I have been travelling on and off for 3 years now, I am an open minded person and loving every single moment, experiencing new cultures and meeting new people.
    I caught the travel bug when I went to Rio, Brazil for the carnival in February 2016, Gemma and I stayed in hostels for 2 weeks travelling around which made me realise how beautiful the world and other cultures are and that I want to see as much of it as possible.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    Gemma: fluent English & very good Spanish. Healthcare experience for over 5 years, specialising with children- very good communication. Bar work//bar manager in Panama,Ecuador,UK. Sustainable living, farmwork, bamboo (a little knowledge). Cooking with a influence from all countries!!
    Amy:- I have a lot of experience in the hospitality industry having worked part time since I was 15 but after studying zoology in university for 1 year I began working in a 5*️️ hotel full time.
    I have volunteered abroad in Malta teaching hockey to various teams around the world, and taught gymnastics to the lower years in my school.
    All this experience has given me the skills to work and care for people of all ages from all over the world, adapting to any given situation.
    I have also done a lot of charity work to help raise money for lung cancer.
    I have a lot of experience working with animals having done various volunteer work when travelling and having numerous animals all my life. In January 2020 I am going to begin a veterinary nursing course.

  • Languages spoken

    english and spanish

  • Age

    26 & 26

  • Nationality

    white british

  • What else ...

    We have been friends for nearly 10 years and make a great duo. We have a very positive energy to be around and keen to get stuck in to anything thrown our way.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian & fish