Edward

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2020 - 30/09/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello! I'm Edward, a 20 year old student from the U.K. When I'm studying I'm at Oxford and when I'm at home, I'm in North Yorkshire.
    I've been in the university libraries for the past two years, immersed in French history and literature. Now I've got a whole year before me to explore France and experience it all up-close for real!
    I'm passionate about learning; I believe you can learn something from everyone you meet. It's especially rewarding when you can build relationships with people by learning a language; practising my French is really important to me - I'm excited to meet people and to hear their histories and stories.
    I'd like to write one day and I'm drawn to French history in the early modern period. I find it fascinating that no two neighbouring towns are the same; each is shaped by its own experience of the tides of history, the Counter-Reformation, the Wars of Religion etc. I'd absolutely love to spend some time in a small, quiet place, where the history is tangible.
    I'm sensitive and a good listener; I'm keen to help others and learn new things. I'm happiest when I'm busy and able to share stories with people. I love animals and the outdoors.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I worked at a supermarket for 3 years. I enjoyed working with the customers most of all and I'm confident dealing with all sorts of people. I worked on the till and looked after the fresh produce. I was responsible for providing good customer service, making sure the shop was clean and that our stock was in good quality. I was a trusted member of the team and a good support to my colleagues. I work hard and can manage my time, and I can spot when someone needs help.

    I really enjoy working with young people. I've done some work in my old schools, visiting students and preparing them for university. I'm passionate about equality of opportunity, and I do a lot to try and improve access to university for disadvantaged young people.

    I love music and theatre. I was just working towards putting on a Shakespeare play before all the theatres closed. I'd auditioned lots of people and looked after them, and I had revised the script. I play the piano - I've done some piano tutoring for children too!

    I love to cook, especially for others.

    I'm good with dogs - I've got two of my own!

    I'm an avid reader! I've managed to hone my language skills over the past few years. My studies involve a lot of writing, and I love words and books. I'm an effective communicator and a good thinker. I'm quite familiar with early modern French literature - Laclos, Racine and Montaigne - and I'm keen now to get to know modern France!

    Most importantly, I'm patient, kind and hard working - enthusiastic to pick up any new skills!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Age

    21

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback