Caroline

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello
    I'm Caroline and I live in South Wales, UK. I have been a social worker for many years and I've been privileged to be involved in the lives of lots of amazing people. My personal and professional values are very important to me and and I have absolute respect for each and every individual.

    I love Wales, but I have been harbouring a soft spot for Canada for as long as I can remember. I spent three months on Vancouver Island through Workaway and loved every minute. I am keen to explore more of this wonderful country so I am open to going just about anywhere!

    I have excellent communication skills and I am truly interested in people, so if I can be of use to an individual, to a group or to a community, I'm there!

    I am willing to turn my hand to most things: gardening, cleaning, animal care, eco projects and general help really. In my social work career, I've worked a lot with people with developmental disabilities and with our older folk, so I'd be more than happy to be a companion for someone. I really enjoyed helping my last host in the home and the community and I'm more than happy to provide personal care.

    Life is short and the world is big and I want to see more of it. Im looking forward to my next Canadian adventure!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Books
    Music
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    Events & social
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Being an elderly companion
  • More details about your skills

    Having been a social worker for much of my adult life, I have great people and communication skills. I have raised two children into fine adult human beings and I have owned (or rather been at the beck and call of) a number of kitty cats over the years. I have done volunteer work at a local animal rescue centre and I am good at doing the 'dirty' work (mucking out, cleaning up). I've also done my fair share of helping people out with personal care. I like to help in the garden and I enjoy driving (I have a clean driving license). I am fit and healthy and happy to do any kind of manual work also.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    53

  • What else ...

    As you can tell from my photos, I love all kitties, big and small and I fully support animal (and especially tiger) conservation I have been a member of Greenpeace since I was 16 years old and believe that looking after our planet is our collective duty. I love live music, swimming in the sea and reading all manner of literature. Oh, and I love Canada :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback