Join our family on a self-sustaining homestead right outside of super-cute Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 44 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! My name is Espi, I'm 23 years old and since quarantine began I've been living on my family farm with my parents, Tim and Elva. They are kind and wonderful people, and I'm not just saying that because they're my parents and I love them.
    We're looking for some help on our farm because, as much as we LOVE outdoor work, we are also busy people, and don't have enough time to do all of the projects that we want to!
    So let me tell you about the farm, and my dreams for it.
    The farm is really just a baby. It's 9 and a half acres of raw potential! Right now we are boarding two horses, named Kiki and Rosie. We have a dog named Tonks, who is truly a ball of energy, and thinks that every animal is her best friend. We have a cat named Captain Hammer, who is incredibly chill, and frequently gets high on catnip.
    We also have 2 ducks (Orpheus and Eurydice), 2 guinea hens (Michael and Maya), and 3 chickens (Sarah Brown, Lucy, and Ethel).
    I have guinea pigs too! They are very sweet little creatures, and I love them with my whole heart. Their names are Puddin' and Jack, and they live in a little outdoor enclosure during the summer.

    My next big goal is to get goats and sheep on the farm! My parents think the next big goal is gardening, but I'm pretty sure we can do both.
    Goats would be really fun because they're goats, they're super cute, I could make soap out of goat's milk (you could help too if you want, if you're here when we have goats), and goats are crazy and their eyes are super weird, so I like them a lot.
    Sheep would be cool because they're basically clouds, they're super mellow, and I could crochet blankets out of their fluff! And they're such a polite animal.
    But in order to get any of that goodness on the farm, we have to put in goat and/or sheep fencing! I would love it if you could help with that!
    We are also planning to start a few little gardens this year, and it would be great to have someone with a green thumb to help!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love cultural exchange! My family loves to travel, and truly we love learning from people whose life experiences differ from our own. We are 50% Mexican, %50 Irish, and we talk about our cultural history a lot. I was raised on Irish rebel songs, which my dad sings and plays on the guitar very often. We also live in a VERY Norwegian town, and sometimes people from Norway come to our town just to visit our Norwegian heritage museum. Additionally, we're a family of francophiles, and have hosted a French foreign exchange student (who is still a close friend of the family almost 20 years later) and I studied abroad in France last year.
    Basically the point of all of this is to tell you that we really love cultural exchange, and believe that learning about other cultures and sharing our own with others is crucial to being part of a truly united global community.

  • Help

    Help

    Most of our projects lately have been small scale construction projects as we try to expand the amount of animals we can raise here. We are trying to go off the grid, and become a self sustaining homestead, which is a lot of work, but will be wonderful for the environment in the long run. So some of the projects we need help with is putting up fencing and creating enclosures so we can get new farm animals, but when we aren't doing that we still have other projects. If you are worried that you don't know enough about construction to help, this would be a really great opportunity to learn! I actually love both learning and teaching basic construction, so if you're nervous about power tools, you don't need to be! :) It'll be really good. But if you're not comfortable with construction that's totally okay, we have other things that you could help with, like feeding the birds and and gardening! We are currently growing two wildflower gardens to help the local bee habitat, and the plan is to grow herb and vegetable gardens as well so that the farm becomes independent and self sufficient. We also could always use help taking care of the ducks and chickens!
    We can accommodate any level of farm experience and any level of construction experience! Any help is better than no help :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can stay in the guest bedroom in the basement, with a bathroom and shower right across the hall, so you'd have plenty of privacy.
    Food depends on the day and we can talk about it in more detail when you get here, but basically we have food available for you! My parents work Monday-Friday and won't be around during the day, but there is always food here, and we won't let you starve :)
    We usually have dinner together, and you are more than welcome to join us! If you're out exploring the town that is perfectly okay too, just know that we will always feed you if you so choose :)
    My schedule is usually super weird, because I work in theatre, so naturally nothing is consistent in my life. But in general, I'm the one that's here at the farm during the day, and can help you out with whatever you need.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    So, the farm is right outside of Stoughton, which is a super cute little artsy Norwegian town. It's a very sweet town with a lot of personality, and a REALLY cute cheese store. We have a lot of specialty craft stores, pottery studio, a yarn store, a jewelry creative studio that is world famous in beading circles, and many other sweet sweet lovely little shops.
    If small towns aren't your vibe, we're also very close to Madison, the state's capital. When I say close I mean REALLY close, like all of us work in Madison, so we're literally there every single day. I personally love Madison for the good vibes and political activism, and the fact that there's like 5 boba tea places within two blocks on State Street. And that's where the Overture Center is, which is where I do my theatre shenanigans, and it's just a nice hub of cultural activity. It's also a block away from the state capital, which is a good place to go for protests and marches. It's also a big bicycling city, and I have a bike you can borrow if you want :)
    Anyway, there's a lot of cute hippie stores in Madison too, and it's all just a good vibe and a nice place to explore. I love exploring my little pocket of the world, so if you need any help finding an adventure I am totally here for you!
    [COVID UPDATE]:
    There's not a whole lot to do anywhere in the world, since pretty much everything is shut down. But sunshine, fields, and flowers are not shut down, and we have plenty of that.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    1-3 hours per day, 5 days per week

Host ref number: 997635622595