Join our enthusiastic family for English language practice in Apulia, Italy

  • Favourited 82 times
  • Last activity: 24 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We are a friendly, wellcoming and hospitable family of three made up of mum (Antonella), dad (Gianfranco) and 17 year-old son (Alberto). I'm a special needs schoolteacher, I'm 55 and I'm an emphatic, sincere and trusthworthy person. My husband is also 55 and he is a lawyer. His job keeps him very busy, except on weekends. Alberto is a nice, friendly, sporty boy who loves hanging out with friends, swimming, and, above all, playing football. He loves watching football on tv and he knows everything about Italian and international football teams and championships. He is respectful, polite and well-behaved. We are a very positive and enthusiastic family: every morning we wake up smiling and full of energy. We love to spend time in nature, take long walks by the beach or in the countryside; to explore cities; to visit local attractions; to attend cultural events...we are interested in people and we enjoy making new friends.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in Leverano, a lively village in Salento (south of Apulia), near the white-sand beaches and crystal water of the Ionian and Adriatic seas. Salento is a great tourist area, rich in culture and local traditions and characterized by amazing places and beautiful historical sites. Last, but not least, Salento is also famous for its amazing cuisine, wine and extra vergin oil. We will be happy to introduce our guests to our healthy but also tasty salentinian way of cooking.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Alberto studies English at school and I have a degree in English Language and Literature. Since we are both eager to practice and improve our English language, we are looking for English native speakers willing to spend at least a couple of hours a day having nice and friendly chats (besides ordinary interactions) with us. We also ask for a little everyday help in the house and in the garden and to take share in anything that needs to be done. We would be happy to share nice and quality time with our workawayers both at home and going out. We will enjoy showing them around, going to the beach, walking around town or in nature, having friendly chats... of course there will be some flexibility in performing your volunteer work -depending on schedules- and we'll always make sure that tou have enough free time to do whatever you want to do.
    If you think you can make a positive contribution in our home and that we have some things in common, then please get in touch - we offer both short and long term stays and we are very excited to try this new experience!
    Because of school routine, summer and school holidays is the best time for us to welcome you

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Our home is ideal for you if you are an honest, open hearted, respectful and emotionally mature person with a good sense of humour.
    We live in a detached three floor house surrounded by a garden. Our volunteers will be accommodated on the ground floor, in a small - but clean and tidy- indipendent flat with a private small kitchen and a small bathroom with a shower. You will have bed linen and towels and free Wi-Fi. You can use our washing machine and our tumble dryer anytime you need it. On the first floor lives my lovely elderly mother. Our flat is on the top floor. The house is close to supermarkets and village shops and to a great number of bars and restaurants/takeaways. You are supposed to prepare your own meals but we'll leave some basic provisions (milk, bottled water, tea bags, olive oil, jam, biscuits...). Moreover, when we have time, we'll ask you to join us to meals and we'll be pleased to let you taste the local food (handymade pasta, pizza, rustico, calzone, frisa, risotti, lasagna, meatballs, seafood, fresh vegetables, pasticciotto cake, gelato...) We could also spend time in the kitchen preparing meals together.
    As mentioned, we hope that you will see yourselves as part of our family. However, with your own apartement, you will also have the opportunity for your own privacy and some peace and quiet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest bus stop is just a short walk away from our house. Buses will take five minutes to bring you to the nearest seaside resort (Porto Cesareo), and about thirty minutes to the town of Lecce, which has a beautiful old town of the baroque age with many nice craftmen's shops, bars, restaurants and all kinds of amusements.
    Anyway, when free, we are willing to drive you around the main tourist attractions. If busy and unable to entertain you, we can always give you tips and help. We have also got a bike for you to go around.
    We are into healthy eating and lifestyle. We don't drink alcohol or smoke and we prefer non-smoking workawayers. We are respectful and tidy and we expect the same from you. No bed time restrictions; you can stay up late, but please, be silent and respectful at night. No pets please.
    The nearest airports are Brindisi and Bari. The nearest railway station is Lecce

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Free wi-fi available

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 985529627324

Feedback (1)