Learn self-sufficiency through organic farming in colder climate in Gällö, Sweden



Favourited 87 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Farm with a focus on self-sufficiency. The farm is a new classical farmhouse, built 1923.26 in traditional technology (carved granite foundation, timber frame). mostly for original and therefore in major renovation needs. The renovation is done in traditional technology combined with new ecologically sustainable technologies such as solar collectors and fiber. With the keeping of goats, meat calves and hens. Potato, vegetable fruit and berry cultivation Now, self-sufficient in hay to the animals, fertilizer to the garden and moorland, Meat, broth, chark products, eggs, potatoes, vegetables, berries and fruit. Restored neoclassical garden after original drawing of the housekeeping company from 1930. The garden leans down, overlooking the lake. In the upper part an oval flower discount, flanked by different bushes. Down at the lake, the vegetable area of 450 sqm with braided fence against the winds and greenhouses for the cultivation of tomatoes cucumbers and beans. Between ornamental and vegetable garden is fruit trees and berry bushes. At the south gate towards the church, a rose garden dedicated to the Virgin Mary, as meditation place. Have a look in our gallery and see what we do for a living. Read the descriptions on each photo for details. On this farm you will learn a lot about animal husbandry to food procurement.
    The farm is located in the beautiful church town of Bodsjö, where you will find in addition to the wooden church and old church buildings, Norrland's oldest timber building, Bodda Bönhus (a farm chapel from the 1100s). The Pilgrim Trail (Jämt - Norgeleden) passes by and there are many other hiking trails, including Forsaleden. great opportunities for cycling / MTB, canoeing, MC (off road) through widespread forests all around. berries and mushrooms picking or photographing of flora and fauna (bear, lynx, eagle, moose, wolf, etc.)
    The farm is fairly separated, the nearest supermarket, bus / train station, gas station is 25 km.
    I'm not as good in writing in English and german as I am writing in Swedish and Dutch We are interested in long term commitment. Write to us! =)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    When you are here, you can learn self-sufficiency through organic farming in colder climate, traditional and organic building techniques, textile crafts: from wool to finished garments, traditional tanning

  • Help


    Gardening:care of vegetable land, harvest and preservation. Ornamental garden
    Animal care:feeding the animals, mucking the stable, fencing, haying on old fashioned, slaughtering and preserving, tanning.
    Building and renovation: masonry, electrical installation, plumbing, carpentry and painting.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You can live in a room in the house but also the opportunity to live in a Sami tipi and eat with the host family. Also, you can cook food for the whole family of farm resources. Animal products are included in various forms.
    due to fish & shellfish allergy; , no fish and shellfish in the house
    sanitary facilities are simple but shower and hot water are available.
    The internet is through fiber so free WIFI.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 983465631614