Welcome to our Czech, Aztec and Spanish Hobby Farm/Homestead in Minnesota, USA

Country

United States

 

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Great opportunity to exchange life paths with a Czech Spanish Aztec origin family consisting of a Father, Mother and Son, living together again after nearly 20 years apart. We also share our home with a 15 year old Labrador named Emma, who has been with us since she was a puppy. Father's health required son to move back to help out on the family hobby farm in the land of 10,000+ lakes. At the hobby farm we have large vegetable gardens which we share with the Hmong community, forest, a trout stream and a pasture. We have continuous projects to maintain the hobby farm consisting of a large home and buildings. This is a chance to help us out and learn about our traditions and way of life, learn new skills and visit this wonderful little part of the Earth in MN USA we call home. We look forward to learning about you and your way of life and traditions!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about the Minnesota Valley, biosphere, great lakes region of the US. Experience the lifestyle and traditions of Czech Spanish Aztec household living on beautiful hobby farm near the cultural hot spot and all conveniences of the Twin Cities of St. Paul and Minneapolis. We would bring you to local attractions and since we are very active we could go hiking to the many parks close by or just on or around the property!

  • Help

    Help

    There are a variety of tasks, which you could decide which task/s suit you best, with a large homestead and hobby farm there are so many opportunities here. You could help independently or with us depending on the tasks.

    Our idea is that we can exchange ideas, culture, and learn from each other. You would benefit by learning about our way of life here in MN on a hobby farm and the skills needed to live on a hobby vegetable farm. Some of the tasks that you could help with include: cooking (our cooking styles are from A-Z based on our mixed origins and we enjoy grilling all year and eat food with simple ingredients, we would love to share our ethnic dishes with you) gardening (tilling the soil, harvesting, weeding) , land maintenance (tree trimming, removal), elderly companion (short visits chatting/visiting with Father or going fishing to our trout stream, little visits), carpentry (building a covered porch, inside finish trimming, building a new roof to make a covered porch, repair/maintenance (lawn mowing, weeding), shopping (groceries), cleaning/organizing and house sitting (a day or two, depending the dates and what you prefer).

    Art projects, we are renovating part of the home and seek ideas for art work, we have art supplies if you are an artist. If you decided you would like to complete any other project we are happy to talk about it, you can pick ones we have or present other projects based on what you like! We will do our best to ensure you enjoy productive tasks and it is our hope you have fun learning something new or teaching us something new or both; while we engage during your time with us!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large custom built home with your huge space separate entrance, with your own bedroom and bathroom, patio with lots of sunshine. We would share our main kitchen, we have an outside grill. We also have a custom build micro trailer home on the land near the forest and stream for a camping experience if you prefer. 3 meals per day, we are pretty much a gluten free, Paleo household (meat, fish, vegetables, fruits, nuts/seeds). Father smokes cigars outside in his large garage.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The twin cities of St. Paul and Minneapolis offer tons of recreation, arts, theater, chances to learn about Sioux Indian culture and other tribes. The hosts are very active and go hiking daily, swimming, cultural events, fishing, farmers markets and various day trips to visit other towns in the countryside. You are welcome to join as you would like as part of our family! We have a vehicle which you could utilize if you have a valid drivers license and good driving record. The MSP airport is about 20 minutes away and there are all other modes or travel near by trains and bus stations.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 948691989192