Garfagnana, Tuscany, working on the land.

Country

Italy

Favourited 70 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/03/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    361

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are working on restoring an old tower and farm by a lake in the Garfagnana region of Northern Tuscany and need some help to restore the neglected land.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    The main tasks at present are to continue clearing the land and restoring the old vines so chain sawing, strimming and making bonfires is the order of the day. For someone with basic building skills and a good head for heights we also want to restore the bread oven and build a wall/fence between it and a 15 meter drop from the rock. There is also decorating or just plain dog sitting.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Italian and a little German spoken (and taught) by Cristina but only English and very little Italian by me.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is some 30km away near Bagni di Lucca in a beautiful but tiny village in the hills. Just a 20 minute walk down to the town with bars, restaurants and public transport.
    A twin room in our home or a small one bedroom house to yourselves.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am English and my partner, Cristina, is Italian and also speaks fluent English and French with a little German. Transport to the Garfagnana is by car with me however I speak only English at present.
    Do a little research on both Bagni di Lucca and Castelnuovo di Garfagnana to get a feel for the area. We are close to Lucca, Pisa, Florence etc. should you want to go a little further afield, and ski resorts are just an hour away should it be that time of year.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours per day, five days from seven, or longer hours and less days.

Raining, but we needed to get finished.
Not very often I wear a suit these days.
Luna likes to keep an eye on things.
...or if it's available, and you prefer a little more privacy, you could stay here. Just a few minutes walk away.
You will stay here, the village of 14 people, six dogs, numerous cats, a donkey, a horse, several goats and countless deer and other wild animals.
Work in progress at La Torretta.


Host ref number: 935835455541