Help out in our small community, on the beautiful island of Bornholm, Denmark

  • Favourited 298 times
  • Last activity: 27 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    We are a community build on the principles of permaculture. Our main focus is on natural building, nutrient cycling, forest gardening and local food production. We manage 8.7 hectars of land that includes woodland, pasture and a permaculture forest garden. We bought our land here 9 years ago because of the unspoiled nature, the rough cliffs and the close community feeling.
    We are currently 10 permanent residents: 6 adults and 4 kids.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will be giving a thorough introduction to the permaculture principles and be able to use the knowledge on site, in planting the next step of our forest garden and managing our main garden. Furthermore you can learn about beekeeping.

  • Help


    We are looking for volunteers to help with the daily tasks on the land. This includes animal care (chicken and 26 sheep). Watering and fertilizing crops, maintaining the forest garden and taking part in the daily chores. Furthermore we have a few renovations projects that we would be glad to involve you in.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Luxembourgish: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Swedish: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Danish, english, german, french

  • Accommodation


    Volunteers will be living in our beautifully situated wooden cabin. The cabin has 2 single beds (can be reannaranged intoa double), a small terrace kitchen and access to wifi. There is a nice outdoor shower and a composting toilet. Dinner will be shared with the rest of the community. We eat a plantbased/vegetarian diet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live on a beautiful island called Bornholm, in the middle of the Baltic sea. The island is famous for its nature, historic sights (incl. Iron age settlements and a mediaval village), sandy beaches and a number of sunny days. There's plenty of trails for hiking and biking, beach walks, sea swimming. A bus passes within 15 min walk from the property that can take you to a bunch of historical sights and coast resort towns.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Workawayers travelling in a campervan, can access the property and have their van on a parking spot 50 m from the main house. There is access to an outdoorshower and toilet.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 846772822213

Feedback (3)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join us in everyday life and help us to keep up with an old farm on the island of Falster, Denmark
Host family is looking for lovely workawayers to help with childcare, gardening and renovations in Fanø, Denmark