Come enjoy a loud family and help us around the house and garden and woodland in Lewes, United Kingdom

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 40 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/06/2018

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a family with 5 children aged from between 20 months and nearly 13 years old . We live in a fabulous location right next the South Downs in East Sussex in a large house that I have built much of myself . I am a carpenter and my wife is a local GP. We enjoy walking and cycling and making things. We own a woodland where I work teaching traditional woodland skills . I am looking for help with the woodland , the ongoing house build , the large and unkempt garden, childcare , house work , cooking and any of the thousand jobs which need doing in our hectic household . We are close to Brighton and Lewes and can offer abundant ,healthy food and a loving ,crazy family .
    If you love bikes and woods and creativity you this could be great fun for us all. If you like a quiet and clean life you may be challenged !

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn English with 5 extrovert children . Be near Brighton , a cultural melting pot . Only 1 hour on train to London.Learn traditional woodland skills and carpentry / building skills . Explore the South Downs , literally on our door step. Be creative with a huge garden . Learn about traditional timber frame construction . Be part of a large family . Make contacts for potential paid work .

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with various things . We don't expect any one person to be able to do them all . Here is a list :

    GARDENING ! Growing vegetables . Mowing the lawn , trimming hedges etc - now we need this most of all . Gardeners please contact us !

    House painting
    General building/ carpentry
    Child care , picking up from school , au pair work
    Logging . Chain saw work, helping in woodland
    House work , cleaning , tidying , cooking etc

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English . Tiny bit of Italian and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a large room which opens out onto the garden . It is potentially big enough for a couple. The kitchen and bath room you'd share with the family. We will eat together 3 times per day or use the kitchen and eat at different times if you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can get a bus to Brighton in 20 minutes or a 30 minute walk to Lewes , which is a very special town with great pubs and cinema. If you are a potter or a woodworker , we have all the equipment . We have never done this before so we a hope to find people who love the way we live and can be sensitive to our needs while getting lots for themselves . We would prefer to spend the evenings after supper without company so self- reliant people will be more suitable .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 823794166867