Help with pets, building and creative projects around our home in beautiful Suður-Hvoll, South Iceland

Country

Iceland

updated  

Favourited 1310 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    45  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/08/2020

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello workawayers,

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Please read my profile and CHECK OUR CALENDAR before you write to me :-)

    Who am I and where?
    I am an Icelandic along with a polish couple in our late 20s and 30s living in panoramic beauty of South Iceland. My house and Mom's house are side by side on a farm and are less than 5 minutes walk to black sand beach with unspoilt views of glacier capped mountains. There are no young children here but family members do visit some weekends and over holidays. There are usually between 4-8 people here depending on who is visiting. Our multicultural family is Icelandic, Polish and if needed 1-2 volunteers. We all communicate though English so a good standard is necessary to avoid chaos. We only take volunteers at certain times of the year so please check the calendar and we don't host over Christmas or New Year.

    Tasks?
    Tasks vary with the seasons and require a level of physical fitness. It is maximum 5hours per day 5days per week. There is always plenty to do around the house and garden. We have some animals- two dogs, 18 family horses to ride in summer months and use to herd some livestock we keep for meat for ourselves. We have a few chickens and plenty eggs. From that, all animals need feeding twice per day if they are inside barns and care year round. Pens and fences need repair. Bottle feeding calves and maybe a lamb. We are trying to grow more of our own food in summer time so gardening and little building projects, maybe some painting or upkeep, mowing lawns and cutting grass. Inside the house we expect you to cleen up after yourself and help keep common areas clean like everyone else who is using that space. We start our tasks between 7-8am and we expect people to show up on time.

    Who do we want to meet?
    We have hosted many volunteers from different countries and different age over the years. Even though we have nice feedback on this website this is not a utopia and we are people who work hard. The volunteers who enjoy this space and our company and have even come back to volunteer again have all been independent, light hearted and responsible people. They were flexible and motivated and able to entertain themselves or mix with us without big expectations.

    We are searching for volunteers age 20+ who come here to help us, independently or with others as needed. People who are mindful and pleasant to live and work with. We value individuals who are motivated, detail oriented and can sometimes act on their own initiative to get things done. Good communication skills through English , a positive attitude and a sense of humour are essential; we can teach you all the rest. We don't smoke and prefer non smokers. We drink a little beer and are drug free. We value the same.


    What you need to know also:
    We are located in the countryside about a 20 minute drive from the nearest town. You must be comfortable in some degree of solitude or happily mixing between social time with us or your private time. We are surrounded by panoramic beauty which is perfect for hikes when Icelandic weather permits. The puffins nest nearby in the summer and we have an open air theater for Northern lights in the winter.
    *️️*️️ A side note about volunteering in Iceland during certain months of the year. In May June and July we have 24 hours of daylight while in December and January we have 4-5 hours in total per day.
    Weather from November to March can be tough at times because of snow blizzards and or strong winds. Roads can close for a day or so preventing travels. Volunteers here during this time need to be flexible and able to cope with being indoors more than they are used to.

    What will we provide for you?
    Volunteers will have a private bedroom in one of two houses, shared living and cooking facilities, many people ask us so yes towels and bedsheets are provided. We take turns cooking dinner in the evening 3-4days per week and the other days you cook for yourself as you want. Food is really expensive in Iceland so we provide basics along with our own beef and lamb meat and eggs. We do not accommodate specialised diets of any kind although vegetarians have come here and survived or willingly adapted. Unfortunately we don't accommodate vegans because we have a meaty diet.
    We have some boots and jackets for outdoor work but you must have your own layers for warmth.

    What do you get from being here?
    Hopefully new friends in us and the other people you will meet here. A little building experience, learning about animal care and food production+appreciation, physical fitness will improve. You will have less outside world distractions and are surrounded by sharp contrasting nature. Learn a little Icelandic and some things about farm life in general.

    Becoming a volunteer:
    *Read the profile and check the calendar.
    *you are willing and helpful
    *send a message, maybe we do a WhatsApp call.
    *the first week here is a trial run incase it doesn't work out and we are not what each other expected.

    Chat soon😎

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can share our skills in languages, cooking, horsemanship, animal husbandry, building projects and new friendships, shared skills between volunteers.

    We must emphasize that we want willing, helpful, mindful people with a cooperative nature to contact us. Also, we want people to be fully aware that we are not far from town but still quite isolated maybe compare to what you are used to, especially during winter months.

  • Help

    Help

    Task overview

    - Light housekeeping of the spaces you are using, including general maintenance- painting and assembling replacement furniture,
    -Feeding our animals start at 7am - chickens, rabbits, giving hay to about 20 sheep and a few cattle in the barn, occasionally bottle feeding lambs in spring or calves if we have some at that time and their daily care.
    - Spring and Summer riding horses for fun, for riders with experience guiding other animals to pastures on horseback.
    - Seasonal projects repairing fences, gardening, building.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom in one of two family homes side by side, shared living and kitchen facilities

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live just by the south shore of Iceland, with famous landmarks Dyrhólaey and Reynisdrangar only a short distance away. To the north of our home lies the majestic Mýrdalsjökull. The beach, along with the wide open expanse of the North-Atlantic only a five minutes stroll away from home.

    Within a three hours driving distance are for instance the glacier lagoon Jökulsárlón, the volcano Eyjafjallajökull which erupted in 2010, the national park Skaftafell, Iceland's capital Reykjavík, Þingvellir national park and numerous other landmarks and cultural sites.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max¡mum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week - most days in the morning, with the afternoons free.

Snow everywhere all the way to the ocean
Cooking dinner in the sand one summers day
Us in summer. Almost warm enough to take your coat off.
Neighbours
Watching more sunrises and sunsets than Netflix
Planting and digging our potatoe a d veg garden with great help
We all took off for a hike on a nice summers evening after dinner.
Moving our animals on horseback. Lots of fun.
Home sweet home. Northern lights September - March

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



































Host ref number: 799811218793