Looking for a Carpenter or Metal worker to help me with my design/construction projects- kathmandu, Nepal

Country

Nepal

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi. I am a freelance architect / DIY enthusiast based in Kathmandu. I like building prototypes and working with my hands which I do in my workshop. I am looking for someone who is good with their hands and likes to put things together. I came back after 15 months on the road and setting up a new life here in Kathmandu.
    I mostly build furniture and building/construction prototypes. I have a workshop and work mostly with wood and metal but am open to other materials as well.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Besides helping me you can also join me in my get-togethers with my friends around Kathmandu and Patan. I have trekked all over Nepal and could also give you advice there if that's what you plan. I have lived in Nepal, India, Germany and recently came back from a trip to the US and south america. I could give you useful travel tips if you plan to go there.
    During my 15 month travel I had times when I didn't want to end up in a hostel again and meet and greet and then say goodbye every other day. I wanted the local experience and also be grounded for a while. I'm offering you that :)

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for a Carpenter or Metal worker or someone who is interested to help with it. He/She need not necessarily be a professional. It can also be someone who has some experience and is willing to learn. I strive for simplicity and my designs reflect that. Working in Nepal is challenging as resources are limited. So you have to be someone who's creative and can work with the tools/materials available and get the job done. You will be assisting me in doing so. I may not be present all the time so I need someone who can work independently but I will be present whenever needed and provide you with all the necessary information and materials. There will also be another local worker if needed.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Nepali

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private room in a 2 Bed apartment. Your flatmate is going to be a nepali couple, one of them is a artist/photographer and the other is a writer. They are very nice and friends of mine. The food will have to be provided by yourself but you can use the kitchen. Eating out is really cheap in Nepal and there are many nice places to eat and hang out nearby. The apartment lies in Sanepa, the southern part of Kathmandu. The historical Patan Palace square is walking distance and Thamel(the tourist hub) is 5 kms away.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many day hikes you can do around Kathmandu. You can also rent a mountainbike from the shop nearby. Depending on what your interests are I could give you tips on what to do in your free time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 15 hours - no meals



Host ref number: 797697771231