Help us to repair and remodel an old building in Vardø, the easternmost town in Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 117 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    375

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The town Vardø is the easternmost town in Norway situated in the very north. It is an island and an undersea tunnel is providing the gateway to this arctic city. Vardø has beautiful nature, surrounded by sea, a spectacular birdlife with excellent opportunities to go hunting and fishing or just to discover the artic wildlife and nature.

    Three years ago we bought an old fish industry building practically right in the towns harbour. Since then we have continually been working on repairing and remodelling the house both inside and outside. The process in ongoing and we are now preparing to start some small scale tourism on the site.

    It would be convenient if you speak English, especially for communicating with others, but also Spanish, French or German will do. We hope to find independent, self driven people who are open for new experiences.

    Don't hesitate to contact us for more information about who we are and what we can offer you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The island offers a wide range of outdoor activities, beautiful nature, snowmobile driving during wintertime, boat trips, observing and enjoying the aurora borealis when least expected, feel the power of the arctic when winter storms set in. And despite being a relatively small city, there are all kinds of festivals, concerts and festivals going on. We assure you that getting to know the friendly locals here is the easiest thing thing in the world.

  • Help

    Help

    Carpeting skills would be very welcome. Painting, changing doors, windows, making fences. In short, helping us out with small tasks depending on your abilities. Carpeting, painting, repairing, cleaning. Maybe you know something about indoor or outdoor architecture and can help us out on finding solutions and possibilities for our project.

    Also other form of help will be welcomed such as cutting the grass in the garden, baby sitting, cooking, help our son with his school work. We regularly also have social arrangements in which we also sometimes need help.

    Paid work is also a possibility.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, spanish, french, norwegian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room with shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you like training there is an excellent gym just next door, the island is relatively small, but you would have a bicycle at your disposal.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Seaside property on the east side.
Seaside property on the east side of the harbor.
Vardø has a beautiful swimming pool with great swimming facilities, Jacuzzi, slides and more. This picture taken from Vardø Arctic Triathlon that takes place in august.
Kids playing on the beach.
Part of the winter festival, picture taken from my kitchen window.
Late september night and friends joining for outdoor activities and relaxation.
The opening of the winter festival Yukigassen - a snowball fight competition with people from other countries also are coming.
Barbour view during summer.
This is me. I like to travel. This picture is taken i Warsaw.
Vardø bathing in the sun on a midsummer night.
My seaside property. Work in progress.
My wife and my son.
The big white building in the background is our project by the sea.
A map of the island.
Host ref number: 792789339523