Subtropical ecofarm and dog shelter in Rize, Fındıklı, Turkey for only who love ecofarming and animals

Country

Turkey

Favourited 121 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    255

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is an eco-farm with endemic woods, underbrush, some fruit trees like kiwi, hazelnuts, grape, apple, pears, blueberries and some animals like chickens, birds, snakes, martens, reindeers (_if you are lucky to see obe) and 19 stray dogs. There is no house in the farm yet. We have just laid the foundation of the farm building which is used by our dogs for now. We established this farm in 2005. We kept most of endemic plants. I have quite a lot of work to do to realize my dreams in this farm.

    I was an engineer. When i retired, i moved to Fındıklı. I live with mother ( even she is old,she is very enerjic comparing young people and she still does some works at the farm) and 3 cats +1 dog in a flat in the town center 15 minutes walk far away from our farm . This area have very rich ecosystem. During the year, you can observe migratory birds, some wild animals, endemic plants. This area has also very rich culture like laz, georgian.

    Year-round we always have something to maintenance, farming works like pruning, mowing, planting vegetables, weeding, harvesting etc. There is always someting to fix.

    We have lovely 19 stray dogs and lots of doing like cleaning the dog's litters, cooking their meals, socializing, repairing their kennels and handling 19 dogs to live together.

    Our farm is not the place if you are looking for a place to have a rest. I expect volunteers to have deep interest about eco-farming and deep love animals and nature. I don't expect volunteers to work as our hired-workers do, but you should keep in your mind that we do also small business. When you work at our farm, you will have the same responsibility as we have. You are also responsible for using farming tools attentive. We have to do our work according to nature needs, not ours. So you have flexible relax when you are at the farm, but it doesn't mean you don't have any responsibility or you don't need to finish your task and you can enjoy with your camera or enstrument whenever you like. Seasonally we need someone for farming works like fruit picking, pruning, preparing vegetable beds, etc. We expect our volunteer to stay with us for minimum period of 3 weeks. We don't have routine works. Our farm is quite slope, you may need to go up and down, so it might be difficult if you are not fit. Also it is much more difficult to work at slope area comparing flat area . Because we have a small farm and i do and organise everything by myself, we can't except a volunteer for a short time.

    You're are not allowed to smoke at the flat or farm.

    If you want visit us, you can ask every question before you come here to make clear everything. If you have any health problem please let me know before you come here. To make a dream real, you should sweat and never forget to cheer up. You should show respect and we will do as well. If your attidute is rude , ı do not hesitate to ask you to leave. So, people are like miror. don't forget it. Before you come here, i give all information on a message. And i expect all information you will give is correct.

    Our farm is not a place to rest or not the place to wait your visa or not the place to take interesting photos or videos for your social media. You are not allowed to take photos for your professional purposes.

    The work is hard. We can only accept volunteers in good physical condition with proper clothes ( i give all information on a message) . Otherwise you will need to buy some clothes here. We provide basic farming wearing like gumboots or gloves.

    Thanks...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Caring dogs, organic farming, endemic plants knowledge and whatever i know i can share if you like. We can exchange our thoughts and dreams. In this area laz and georgian cultural colors enrich activities of daily living and you can experience amazing cultural activities beside marvellous nature. There are lovely trekking and biking routes, coasts to swim in summer season.

  • Help

    Help

    Need volunteers for farming and basicly for our stray dogs to help cooking, feeding, socializing, exercising dogs, maintenance kennels if required. If you expect that you will responsible for only loving dogs , our farm is not for you.

    We do organic farming based on permaculture techniques. So if you like to learn ecological agriculture, you always wellcome. I like to share all my knowledge and i love to learn new things from new people . you can ask some questions on your working time about farming, but if you want detail information you should ask about it on your spare time. Your working time is not free-training time . My time is also valuable as yours.

    We will not accept any volunteers in winter or in very early spring. Every season we have different things to do. We also produce jams, vinegar, wine etc.

    The climate is subtropical . In the summer the weather is very humid and warm. We have some heavy rainy days in August. This area is hilly by the sea. You can swim in the summer time . But sometimes you can swim in the rain.

    You're going to work 5 hours in a day and 5 days in a week. Your working time starts at arriving time to the farm. If you work less than 5 hours because of weather or any other reason because of you or me, you will need to compensate another day.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, turkish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our flat have 3 bedroms and one living room plus kitchen+1 bathroom+1 toilet.

    1.We can host only one volunteer for now. We have one room in our flat for volunteers.

    2.Internet access is LIMITED ( only one hour in a day on your working days in the evening time ) .

    3.We provide lodging , all meals, laundry ( you should put your clothes ino the washing machine by yoursel) . We get ready breakfast with volunteers all together. You are responsible to cook or to make cold dish for your lunch. Dinner gets ready by all together again. On your off days, you are responsible to cook for yourself. At the flat you are also responsible to keep clean the flat, cleaning your room, geeting ready table etc. as we do. The farm is 15 minutes walk away from here. We have a car. We go to the farm by car. I am on a celiac-diet. So we cook generally gluten-free food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very closed to Georgia. It takes half an hour by minibus. You can visit another country too . There are very famous places in this region like Uzungöl, Ayder, Zilkale, Karagöl, Sumela monastery, You can visit by local tours in your day off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hours a week max







Host ref number: 779192571536