Help out with some renovation and restoration at our hobby farm in Opavske Lazy, Slovakia

Country

Slovakia (Slovak Republic)

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, me and my partner have a small hobby farm in southern Slovakia. No animals as were mostly in England for work etc. We're slowly renovating the house and doing general DIY and gardening etc. Our biggest barn is in need of some TLC so I need some help sorting this out for a couple of weeks. We have a mini digger and tractor and lots of tools and equipment but always run out of time. The area is very peaceful and great for walks, there's lots of wildlfe about close to the house and generally its a great place to relax. All food and drink will be supplied, including any outings etc. that we go on or bbqs or dinner invites. I also like a little archery/woodworking to make crazy furniture and wood turning on our lathe and my partner likes to play the piano. I'm still finishing the pizza oven but its fully working and food tastes great cooked in it. We want to be off-grid eventually and are slowly buying solar panels /batteries, wind turbine and all the accessories to get them to work together plus generators. We have 64 acres plus a small hunter's cabin to renovate for accommodation a short stroll away.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We don't tend to work the clock round, we like to go to the local thermal spa , out for meals or trips to local towns and sites, hiking, bike rides etc. We don't expect any helpers to work like slaves just helpful people to help alongside us. When we go out shopping or for a relaxing coffee or a beer we all go out and chill, we find pacing ourselves is much better than frantically rushing around. Any musical interest is always a plus and if you enjoy cooking like we do then we can always take turns

  • Help

    Help

    Some barn renovation help, digger driving possibly and tractor etc, helping with me on the barn to begin restoration,
    general DIY, possibly a little gardening.and always need to build firewood supplies...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Slovak: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room in neighbour's house or spare room in our house. Depending where you are we may be able to offer help travelling etc. Neighbour's house would be empty of course.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is in Opavske Lazy. Opava is a small village nearby and "lazy" means countryside, so we are literally in the countryside area of the village of Opava. It is in the Banská Bystrica region in central southern Slovakia. The nearest town is Veľký Krtíš which is about 10 Km away - there is a bus stop close by and there is a bus most days but the house is in the wilds - population density is about 20/ sq Km. Wildlife nearby includes foxes, hares, lynx (rarely), bears (rarely), wild boar and lots and lots of deer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 776374617931