Come help set up an animal farm in Finland

Country

Finland

Favourited 117 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    287

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a small farm park in the heart of Finland. We are starting the 3rd business summer in 2019 and there's still a lot to build! Here isn't much to do during the winter, so I am looking volunteers for spring & summer 2019.
    We have a pack of reindeers ( 9 now), lots of birds: chickens, ducks, geese, guinea fowl, peacocks, pheasants. Rabbits, cats and dogs and goats.

    NOTICE: The map showst totally wrong location to our place. We are not up in the north close to swedish border. We are in the middle of Finland!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn some finnish language, if you like 😊you will learn how to take care of many animals. You can enjoy Finnish countryside and learn about our culture.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help to build places for the animals: fences, chicken coops etc. I also need help making flower beds and cleaning the farm buildings. I really hope you know how to use at least hammer and nails! :-P

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is one big bed for 1-2 persons in the house. It is behind courtains but there is no own room. We are using same bathroom. There is also a sauna in other building. In summertime there is possibility to sleep in an old storehouse.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are living 25 kilometres from the closest small city, Pieksämäki and 80 kilometres of a bigger city, Kuopio. Here is no bus connections, but we go to the town many times during the week, so getting to see other people and shops is not impossible!😀
    We have travelled a lot with motorcycles and volunteering is familiar to us. We like to see new people and learn about other cultures. We speak english and german - at least my hubbie is good in german, I understand better than speak. But english is ok for both of us!
    There are 2 adults in our family, no children.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

There are lots of birds in my farm. Peacocks are the most amazing of them.
Chicken palace. :-)
Me, the oldest reíndeer, bosslady called Mamma and her baby Touko from summer 2018.
The shelter where the visitors can eat and drink coffee.
There are lots of families visiting the farm durinf the summer.
Here we are: me Ira and my husband Matti. :-)
Our farm starts here. :-)
Here you can see an old flower bed which we need to tear apart and build another hen house instead of it! :-P
This is the road to us in mid winter. :-)
Reindeers seen from my kitchen window! :-)
Some of the garden and the chicken palace! :-)
One of last summers foals.

Host ref number: 766168297563