LGBTQ+ Friendly household, in Matlock Bath, UK

Country

United Kingdom

new host  

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/01/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We’re Alice and Rosie and we live in the Peak District. For those of you that don’t know, the Peak District is an incredibly beautiful area in the centre of England, popular with people who enjoy being outdoors or finding peaceful cosy little places to rest in.

    We’re based in Matlock Bath, which is a popular little village surrounded by trees and mountains. We are easily reached by most major cities, with trains to London/Manchester/Leeds/Sheffield all easy to reach.

    We have a large 1830’s Victorian house, split across 4 floors with great views of the surrounding areas. The house has lots of spare rooms so there’s more than enough space to share with guests!

    Rosie and I work from home a lot during the week, so we’d prefer someone that was happy to spend their days outdoors exploring or to rest quietly in the house. I LOVE to cook and make homemade meals each night, which of course we’d love to share with you. We mainly cook vegetation/vegan, but we are not strict about this.

    We’re happy to have people stay for any length of time, all we ask if that you’re respectful of our home and sociable. We’re an LGBTQ+ household so all visitors must be embracing of this.

    We have previously lived in Manchester and London, and Rosie studied at Oxford University and Alice at Cambridge University. We are happy to give people information about travelling to these locations, or even make a joint visit to show you the sights!

    Lastly, we’d be especially keen to host people who spoke french/Russian/German as we’re currently trying to learn these! Alice is also quite into art, particularly woodwork and other small projects - she’d more than welcome anyone that was also interested! Rosie is very musical and plays a number of instruments - she’s always looking for someone to create music with.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in an incredibly beautiful - but relatively hidden - area of the UK. We’d love to tell people more about the area and help them explore! We also love to cook and learn new recipes and we’d love to share mealtimes where it’s doable! Rosie and I also love languages and would be happy to try and learn some phrases from our guests, and in turn pass on some English if you’d enjoy. Alice has lived in quite a few different places and always love hearing more about the culture and traditions specific to different places.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a small garden that we’re currently trying to renovate - there are lots of weeds and dead plants that need removing, as well as soil that needs to be taken to the local disposal unit. This is really the only thing we’d love help with - it’s not a huge project, more just something that would take up a couple of hours a day, or however you’d like to split your time.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Alice is really interested in improving her Russian, and Rosie her French! Alice is trained to teach English as a foreign language and would be happy to give a few basic lessons for anyone that wants.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will provide all food, and Alice cooks most evening meals herself. We’d love it if you had any meals you wanted to make, too! The house has 2 spare rooms, and the guest could pick which one they preferred. We also have two bathrooms, both with showers and one with a bath. The guest will have full access to these. If staying in the winter, the house can get quite cold even with heating and and a fire, so we recommend bringing warm clothes!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are easy to reach by public transport, with Matlock Bath train station just a couple of minutes walk from our house. London is 2 hours 25 minutes away, with Manchester/Sheffield/Birmingham/Leeds all about an hour or so away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Rosie and I both work digitally from home. We have good WiFi and are happy to host people that need to spend some time each day working from their laptops.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    All well behaved pets are welcome! We have some great dog walks around the area

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Flexible - approximately 2-3 hours a day, but can be adapted!


Host ref number: 761531879291