1 / 2

Experience international family life in an Uruguayan beach town, La Barra, Maldonado

  • Favourited 166 times
  • Last activity: 13 Apr 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We are an international family with roots in Moldova and Germany. We have three small kids (4,6,8), living in a calm beach town in Uruguay. We are fluently mixing four languages throughout the day, so you will have the opportunity to learn Spanish with the kids while improving your German, Russian or English simultaneously. We have just started our organic vegetable garden and urban fruit forest project with a focus on native, edible and/or medicinal plants, and are in the progress of learning and moving towards a sustainable lifestyle. Anyone interested in sustainable living, gardening, multicultural living in Uruguay, entertainment with three-lingual kids or just helping around is welcome!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are multi-lingual family and we can help you improve your Spanish, German, Russian or English. Our kids are just 2 and 4 but they can already teach you Spanish :) As we have just started our small garden project, you can learn and develop your skills together with us. Ralf can also teach you about open software and other computer skills, if you wish to.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We would like to have some help playing with and entertaining with the kids, some basic help around the house, gardening if you are interested and perhaps cooking if you like to do that :) No worries, we will not ask you to change diapers.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We have a separate room in our house with a queen-sized bed under a thatched roof, space for meditation and yoga. Hot shower, running water, washing machine and internet access are available. We usually have all the meals together on the family table. Beach is 500m from the house, supermarkets, cafes and restaurants no more than two blocks away. You will hear the ocean at night if the wind direction is just right. In your free-time, you can have a swim in the ocean or the river or go surfing with the ocean waves. Punta del Este is a ten minute drive away, so are other small beach towns and the countryside. We share our garden with two cats, six chicken and a rooster.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 500 meters from the beach where the Maldonado river meets the ocean. You can surf in the ocean or go swim in the river (we can arrange a surf board) or just meditate and chill on the beach. Outside of the January/February main season, it is usually pretty calm. Not far from us are several national parks and lagoons, where you might find flamingos and many other of the Uruguayan birds. And if city life attracts you, "famous" Punta del Este is just a short bus ride away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    WiFi available.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We've got enough space to park a campervan or motorhome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 727894943379

Feedback (5)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help on our fun hostel project in Montevideo, Uruguay
Help us in our place, in a natural environment in La Paloma, Uruguay