Native Spanish speaker to help us with the language in Zionsville, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/05/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My wife and I (ages 37 & 39) live near Indianapolis, Indiana, and have two teenage children (13 & 16). We have two cats.

    I, George, own and operate a software development company and have spent my entire life in the technology and consulting field.

    My wife, Karin, recently finished her B.A. in Project Management and is currently working with me at our company.

    We love traveling and plan on moving to South America or possibly Spain when we retire.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Even if your English isn't great, it's not a problem. We understand much more Spanish than we can speak and would be happy to host someone who is also looking to better their English.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    For the past year, we've been learning Spanish with an online tutor every weeknight. It has been very helpful, but we have found that we need even more exposure. We would love to host a native Spanish speaker (preferably from South/Central America) who can help us continue to grow better every day.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Sign language (American): Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are currently learning Spanish and would love to have a native Spanish speaker come stay with us in hopes of further developing our language skills. My wife went to college for American Sign Language and was once fluent.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our 3 floor, 7,200 sq. ft. home has 6 bedrooms and 6 bathrooms and is located in a beautiful wooded neighborhood. The spacious and private guest bedroom is located in our walk-out basement and has a private bathroom w/ walk-in shower. The guest bedroom has a queen-sized, memory-foam bed, wall-mounted flatscreen 55", 4K television, chair/desk, closet w/built-in storage, and nightstand. Also located in the basement, is also an (almost) full kitchen with a full-size fridge/freezer, dishwasher, and built-in microwave. We keep a plug-in hotplate available if anyone wants to cook. The entire home has been recarpeted and repainted within the last 4 months.

    For the musically inclined, we just purchased a baby grand piano that you'd be welcome to play.

    My wife and I love to cook and usually cook dinner almost every night. We occasionally will order food or go out for dinner. All food to the guest will be provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live approximately 20 minutes from downtown Indianapolis. There are many amenities in the local area, including parks and recreation (boating, fishing, hiking, etc). There are paved walking/biking trails miles and miles long. There is a world-class Zoo, art museum, and children's museum in Indianapolis. There are fashion malls, shopping malls, and strip malls everywhere. There is no shortage of ways to spend your time (and your money) outside of the home.

    For those who want to see Chicago, it's only a 3-hour drive north of where we live.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We love technology and own a technology company so we have made working from home very easy and efficient. The guest bedroom has a computer desk/chair and wireless highspeed mesh-1GB Fiber Internet Service. We have plenty of room for conference calls and conversations outside of the guest room as well.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    While our neighborhood won't allow a camper/RV parked overnight, my wife's father has a farm with ample room to park anything larger.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 727479452947