Looking to learn new skills in the heart of the Cape Breton Highlands, Canada ? If so give us a try

Country

Canada

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young at heart couple living on a beautiful island, Cape Breton, in a tiny community, surrounded by mountains and ocean. Living in a rural setting requires us to be more hands on in our lives. We have a greenhouse,(hothouse), vegetable and flower beds that require tending, weeding, planting, trees that need trimming, cutting, and a myriad of other projects. Our home is comfortable and welcoming with an extra bedroom overlooking the Aspy Fault. We are located minutes from many world famous hiking trails, beautiful uncluttered beaches, CBH National Park, great fishing rivers, etc etc. Our property abuts scenic North Harbour, which is a great place for cruising around, fishing, seeing bald eagles and just enjoying the beauty.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will gladly provide information on history of the area and its people. and any other area of interest. Would love to learn as much about the workaway's country of origin, food, family etc. If willing the workaway's can learn to operate a chainsaw, wood chipper, learn how to grow & harvest plants successfully in a greenhouse setting and in outside gardens. Can also learn how to flyfish !

  • Help

    Help

    STARTING THE 19TH OF MAY 2019 Would need someone with a good work ethic who has some knowledge of gardening, who doesn't mind getting their hands dirty. Need help with splitting and storing our winter's wood, cutting up fallen trees and chipping same. Spray painting the house, mechanical repairs , spray foam insulating .There is always something to do, the weather determins what gets done. Could be working outside or inside house !

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English & French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom with double bed. View of the Aspy Fault from windows. One bathroom , open concept main living area. We are not vegetarian or vegan. Have no problem if you are, but please provide your own specialty items if needed. Because we live at a distance from a major city, if you require something specific it is better if you bring it yourself. As to the meals, there will always be lots of food to make your own breakfast and lunch, supper will be made by the host or by the workaway. The main thing is that we all work together, keeping the house tidy and being respectful of each other. Have internet service, cell phone service, have a tv, Netflix, xbox, fishing gear etc

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport of any kind in this area, but we are willing to lend a hand on that front. If a ride is necessary accommodation can be made. As previously stated hiking trails and beaches galore, many small communities from Smokey Mountain to Cheticamp, whale watching tours, etc. We live a simple life and want anyone staying with us to feel at home. You must have an appreciation for nature to completely enjoy this area !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 699536926494