Help with my property in the peaceful forest of Småland, Sweden

Country

Sweden

new host  

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The property lies in a great forest of pines, birches and spruces, in North-East Småland, something 300 km from Copenaghen, Stockholm and Göteborg.
    It’s 1 ha land in a sunny and warm glade. The big forest has a network of paths, that lead also to little lakes. During summer the forest is full of blueberry, mushrooms and so on.
    I’ve just got this small and peaceful property after other careful people loved it since the 1940s. And now I long to enhance the richness of this plot of land to shape a forest recovering for bodies and souls.
    I’m a thirty years old Italian guy, I’ve a background in Humanities studies and I’ve been a volunteer in organic farms myself. At this point of my life, having left the city life to reach an essential living, my project now is to take care of this property starting with a plan of permaculture. The project is at its very beginning and, in time, the aim will be to create a regeneration place for people, revealing the hidden healing properties of every single element of the forest, sun rocks and water, enriching the variety of plants and introducing only ecological, non permanent man-made structures. One of the goals is also to reach an energetic self sufficiency by the aid of wind turbines and solar power.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you can experience the country life and a peaceful environment, do all the works that have to be done according to a quiet and slow living.
    Exchange knowledge between like-minded people from different cultures and languages

  • Help

    Help

    Works needed at the moment are: create raised beds, create suntraps and windbreaks, weeding, preparing the ground, sorting of wood from fallen trees and broken branches, create vegetable garden and a small green house, planting, general maintenance.
    Painting and other stuff may be other works at some point.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    I speak English, Italian and learning Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is a room in the house

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I can pick workawayers up at the agreed train station.
    The house is 8 km from the nearest village through a gravel road.
    In your time off you can hike in the forest, go to the near lakes and also we can organize some trips in the Småland area.
    We can start with few days / 1 week and then, in case, agree for longer stays.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 683943529379