Participate in daily life and projects in the Auvezère Valley, France

Country

France

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Micro-farm where we cohabit with different animals and plants and care for them. We are two people living here, with our agricultural activity (vegetable, fruit and flower production), Jeremy, 29 and Oriane, 30. Located nearby the Auvézère river in the area of Périgord Vert, department of Dordogne, the farm is right on the edge of the valley (10 minutes on foot to a quiet beach spot on the riverside).
    A general federating idea among us is to live accordingly to our environment, while making a living in the country and participating to its life, learning, doing and exchanging around with open eyes and ears and methods.
    Both of us are working with our production in the farm (fruits and vegetables), which we started here three years ago, and dedicated most of our time to it since - meaning we had to set aside some activities which we would now like to take up again. Sharing time with volunteers here will be a chance to develop non-'productive' sides of the farm (renovation, construction, autonomous vegetable and flower garden stetting,...) and of the forest surroundings (clearing, woodwork,...).
    With the farm located in a very rural edge of the map, one hour ride from big cities and half an hour from smaller ones, it would be better for you to have your own moving means (bicycle, hitchhiking, car...) so you can enjoy your stay along with your autonomy.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    From the farm perspective, you may be interested too in experimenting different approaches with natural gardening and eco-construction, craftwork, etc., and also we'd be keen on sharing around local and world music, hiking, cinema, podcasts, & more!!
    Also, if you feel like discovering social environment of the region, twice a week we attend the local markets with the products of our farm; on Tuesdays in the rural and lively Payzac village nearby (Concert every Thursday night during all summer!), and on Saturdays, in the multicultural market of Place Marceau in Limoges city, meeting with a warm and friendly atmosphere.

  • Help

    Help

    There are many projects in the farm right now that we would like to retake, among which we will need help with :

    -Isolation and renovation of the flat neartby the barn;
    -Clearing of the attic and different storage places;
    -Clearing of different spots in the forest for the future installation of Kerterres;
    -Cleaning and mending of the ancient source and wash spot nearby the forest;
    -Construction of biodiversity hives;
    -Settling different ornamental/ biodiversity-aimed/ self-sufficient gardens;
    -Creation of painted coatings, murals..

    In brief, almost any project you find interesting to help us carry, as the possibilities here are plenty.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Both of us speak English as we spent time traveling and living abroad before we met an settled in Périgord -Many months in India for Jeremy, and a few years between studies in Spain and seasonal jobs/WOOF through Europe for me, with some experience of teaching French (my mother-tongue), I'm glad to help with learning the basics / improving level/ conversation.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a caravan with accommodation for 2 or 3 people, with a collective kitchen nearby where we share lunch, leisure time or sometimes an evening 'apéro'.
    So far standards of living are basic : we chose dry toilet and solar shower, they're a keeper for obvious ecological concerns, nevertheless a process of upgrading comfort around the caravan and collective kitchen for instance is still on. Then if you are more of an outdoors person, and value a wild and beautiful valley environment and landscape more than coziness of accommodation for now, here could be your spot too!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can check photos on the internet of Saint-Mesmin Village (CP 24160) nearby, very prized spot for nature lovers to get an idea of how hiking rocks around here!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yes, there's parking space for a small truck nearby the barn.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We love our four-legged (or two legged for that matter, birds are welcome too!!) friends, only thing here is the chicken, geese and ducks run free around the farm so if you travel with a dog not socialized properly to them, we'll need to find out how it goes first; and if needed, help is right by the corner, with our neighbor who's a professional in canine training with positive education methods.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (4.5)





Host ref number: 631329977825