Permaculture and organic garden in Wales, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 367 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a married couple with a large garden which we treat as a small holding with chickens, ducks and lots of food being grown. There is also usually at least one or two volunteers here at any given time. Most of the tasks will be garden related but we also love to cook and make preserves, low sugar jams and wine from our produce. There are lots of different things to do in the garden - sowing, planting, willow hurdle fences, weeding, sheet mulching, watering, composting and path maintenance depending on the time of the year and of course looking after our chickens and ducks! We are well placed for visitors who wish to explore lovely places being not far from beautiful places like Barry Island Beach, Lavernock Point, the Brecon Beacons and the Gower seaside. We hope you like the sound of this and look forward to hearing from you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Michele works as a garden teacher and a garden designer, designing mostly edible, wildlife and permaculture gardens. She uses the garden here to explain permaculture and as a teaching tool for techniques and ideas. She is involved in a social enterprise greening city areas via people front gardens. Chris works as a documentary film maker making mostly social issue films.
    We have a large garden which we need help with to keep it being productive, a wildlife haven and beautiful. Most of the work is garden orientated so you need to enjoy this type of work to be happy here. We like to get to know our volunteers and most meals are shared around a table. This is where most of the conversation and jolliness happens – that and in the kitchen making the meals! If you like to be in group situation with fellow travellers then this is a good place to be. Equally we usually only have one or two other volunteers so there is plenty of opportunity to ‘escape’ and spend some quality time in solitude as well.

    General knowledge:
    • Permaculture! (most people don’t understand permaculture and think it is synonymous with organic gardening – this place will set you to rights on that one)
    • Organic gardening
    • Chicken and duck husbandry
    • Cooking (if you don’t know already ;)

    Specific skills you will learn depending on the time of the year.

    How to:
    • Sow seeds
    • Transplant plants
    • Sheet mulch
    • Weed
    • Recognise weeds by sight, smell and texture
    • Identify useful and / or edible weeds
    • Make compost
    • Make hurdle fences
    • Mulch and fertilise the soil
    • Keep plants healthy

    We hope you like the sound of this and look forward to hearing from you!

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the help required is in the garden and we especially are interested in people who have building skills as there are always things that we want constructed in the garden. But! we are also very happy to take garden novices as there is plenty of other stuff to do. Because it is a garden and not a farm then the tasks can vary from day to day. We work to prevent boredom wherever possible!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    A little bit of french & son speaks fluent Welsh

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At any given time we have 1 - 4 people staying - depending on whether people are travelling as friends and / or couples. We have two caravans in the garden that are dry and warm with heating and connection to the internet via ethernet cabling or wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Although there are green fields everywhere we also live very close to main transport and Cardiff city itself being 15 minutes on the train from Cardiff Central. From there you can travel to the beautiful Brecon Beacons. Travelling in the other direction you can take a trip to Barry Island Beach, go a bit further and you get to Llantwit Major and St Donats, a bit further still and you get to the stunning Gower. Weekends are free time so there is plenty of opportunity if you plan ahead!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hours, 5 days per week
















Host ref number: 6289886174a3