Welcome to our home and to help with fun projects in a rural setting near Mazomanie, Wisconsin, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, workawayers!
    My husband and I, both companion animal veterinarians, live in a rural forest setting, but we are not far (a half-hour drive) from a great university community of Madison, with lots of opportunities for both natural and cultural experiences (also where all three of my sons currently study).
    My 3 college-age sons have had wonderful work away experiences in both India and Japan, and I would like to offer that opportunity to others to share skills while meeting new friends and traveling.
    About 1 year ago I had the opportunity to acquire a small amount of overworked farmland and forest which I am restoring, primarily through managed intensive grazing of goats and sheep. My primary goals are to enjoy a pastoral lifestyle raising farm and fiber animals for enjoyment and to rebuild a degraded landscape to help fight climate change for future generations.
    My project and passions: spending time with my dairy goats, mini donkey, and sheep; building infrastructure like barns, hay storage, and fences; starting an orchard and permaculture food forest; cooking delicious vegetarian food, especially in our outdoor pizza oven for gatherings of friends, and canoeing or floating on a hammock over the beautiful Wisconsin River in our backyard.
    Note: we have cats, dogs, and a ferret in the house; all other animals are kept outside.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our family enjoys meeting people of all ages and from all walks of life. We had the opportunity to homeschool our children and do a lot of traveling in many parts of the world, and love to learn about other people's cultures and traditions. Whether your background is urban or rural, from America or anywhere else in the world, we would love to welcome you into our home!

  • Help

    Help

    It's always more fun to work on projects with someone else, and things get done so much faster. My goal is to move my animals every day to a new pasture in order to improve the land. Feeding, watering and moving animals takes about 1 hour per day and is definitely the thing I need the most help with. In addition, I'm always building something or experimenting with art projects and new farming, planting, harvesting, and permaculture techniques. Intermittently, we also can use help with sheep shearing, beekeeping, canning & preserving food, cooking, and pretty much anything anyone is willing to help with or learn about. On days when we're not at our day jobs, we will work most of the day on projects and would welcome help for bigger blocks of time as you are able.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Japanese: Intermediate
    French: Beginner
    Hindi: Beginner
    Haitian Creole: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your primary housing option would be living in our house with us (we have several spare bedrooms and can accommodate individuals, couples, and families). As alternatives, we do have a camper van on the property, and camping outside in a tent or our giant treehouse in good weather are all possibilities.
    Our family is vegetarian, but we enjoy eggs and dairy products and we love cooking delicious food with others. We will not be providing meat, but you can cook your own if you decide to camp or stay in our camper van, although do not allow cooking meat in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can help to arrange transportation from Chicago, or Madison Wisconsin airports. Our area is well known for beautiful natural sightseeing on the Wisconsin River, which you can enter from the dock in our backyard and paddle or swim to many islands, bluffs, and beaches in our area. There are also many towns and communities of interest nearby, such as Salk City un the river (~5-minute drive), Spring Green down the river (15-minutes), Mazomanie (5-minutes), and Madison (30-minutes), which is also a great multicultural university community; we are happy to transport you there on occasion for events as well. Canoeing, biking, hiking, and cross country skiing are some of our favorite activities and we have equipment on-site for your use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any size vehicle can be accommodated. Water and electric hookups depending on whether you choose to be near the house or in a quiet location on the farm field or forest.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Any well behaved. Dogs must not be allowed to chase chickens or sheep.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-4 hours per day, 20 hours per week.



Host ref number: 623648218735