Welcoming help with restoring an old timber house in the woods of Holsbybrunn, Sweden

Country

Sweden

updated  

Favourited 81 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi ! 🌸
    We, Jana & Jonas, are a Swedish couple who just bought an old beautiful cottage with a barn and some land 4 min from our house. Right by a beautiful river called Emån.
    It has been abandoned for many years and will need a lot of love. We need some help giving this beautiful place life again. Preferably a couple or two friends.
    We need strong hands and a positive mind.
    You should be physically fit and have a love for nature 🌲

    Next year we would like to have some sheep grazing to keep the pasture open.

    Even though Jonas knows a lot about building it's hard to do by yourself.
    He is a carpenter, a nature lover and a hunter. He can teach you a lot about the work if you have the will and energy.
    I, Jana am a nature lover and love animals. I’m also into self sufficiency. (my reason for doing workaway and wwoofing myself 😊 2 years ago).
    My dream about a more self sufficient lifestyle might come through because of this place.
    I'm also into yoga and mindfulness.
    We try to spend a lot of time in nature going on small adventures.

    If you want to you can also help us finish the building of a greenhouse by our home. (See pic)
    We have some free-ranged chickens 🐔 for eggs 🥚 They are quite spoiled 😅

    We dont smoke or drink alcohol and prefer you don't either.

    We don't cater vegetarians

    We would love to hear from you 🌸

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Get the opportunity to visit a beautiful area of Sweden. With a river behind both places. Where ypu can swim and also catch some fish 🎣 (The restoration site and our home).

    We have a canoe you can use on your days off. There are many lakes, mushrooms and berries. Wildlife is all around us. Sometimes even moose.
    Cultural exchange. Meet our family, learn some Swedish if you want to.
    But we also believe its important to have a lot of private time for both you and us on your free time to recharge.

  • Help

    Help

    We want help with restoring the old timber house back to its former glory. To take the plot and house back from nature. Creating possibilities for a more self-sufficient lifestyle.
    And of course you keep your living area clean and help us with dishes after meals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay together in our separate and private guestloft. It is situated just by the small beautiful river. You can see the sunrise from a beautiful big window in your sleeping loft. 🌅 There is an outside toilet and the shower is in the mainhouse. Personal hygiene is important as we will rent out the guesthouse next year.

    When we have electricity in the timber house there is an option for you to stay by yourself there and only help us for 3 hours a day if you provide your own food.

    I usually cook all the meals, you help with dishes. 😊
    I use as much local, organic and self produced products as possible. I love foraging and using what nature provides for us. Healthy tasty meals. We cook a lot outside on open fire as well .
    3 meals a day on working days. Usually you get some type of "swedish fika" aswell. On your days off we provide breakfast but you provide the other meals yourself.

    There is no wifi in the guest house. But you can buy a cash card from the store.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I've been a workawayer and wwoofer myself, with good reviews. I am very grateful for my experiences. Now its time to be a host to give something back. 😊

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I am allergic to cats.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 613822971473