Help us on a small family farm in Barvaria, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 694 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    67  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1684

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  • Description

    Description

    URGENT:
    At the moment we need people who do not mind to properly (with roots) remove weed from our garden and can distinguish between weed and plant :), or who know how to refurbish caravans and do woodwork OR who do not mind cleaning and help us in the household.

    Last minute helpers are very welcome!

    Also important to notice: if you confirm your stay with us and cancel it at short notice we will give you a bad feedback and tell workaway as first of all it would be unfair for helpers who asked to come but couldn't come because we didn't have a free position anymore and unfair towards us because we also need to plan our projects.
    --------------------------------------------------

    ABOUT US:
    We live in a wonderful quiet place in the nature with lots of space and caravans.

    I was a volunteer myself in England in April 2013. I think it is a great opportunity to learn the language and get to know the real culture. So I decided to offer a helper position here as well. Here we go ;):

    We (11 adults and 5 kids + 1-3 helpers) are living in a very old, but renovated, little farmhouse. We are all working in different jobs or go to school.
    We are a community that is mainly connected because of working and living together. On our farm we have some goats, sheep and cats, chickens, geese, a dog, mice, .... We have a big garden and eat lots of fresh food from our own garden.

    The next village (which also has a station) is about 5 kilometres away. Often you would have your own room or caravan, but if we are too many people, you would have to share your room, but there is so much space here that you will always find a space for yourself when you want to retreat.

    The work would comprise: help in the household (cleaning, washing, cooking,...), help with the animals, help with the garage and barn (sort and clean it out) and help to cut wood for the winter and help to prepare parties or events.
    We also have an old caravan in our garden which needs to be refurbished, so we are looking for some skilled people who can help us with that. We look for people who enjoy being with us and the kids but can also entertain themselves (read a book, make music, etc.) My little brother and my stepfather play the guitar and love to do jamsession. So let us know when you are a musician and love to make music, too.
    --------------------------------------------------

    WHAT WE EXPECT:
    We expect work from you for about 4 hours a day and you get 1 day off a week in return of fresh and loads of food (it is difficult for us to offer vegan food, we do, however always offer a vegetarian alternative if we have meat) and accommodation. You could also join our family life, although we cannot always offer you lots of entertainment here, as everyone is quite busy. But you can also discover on your own the area around Burghausen, which has a lot to offer. And Munich, Salzburg, Landshut, Rosenheim are about 1,5 hours by train.

    All in all, however you should be able to entertain yourself and be an independent person and also see when something needs to be done or when someone needs help. We are a drug free place and we often have people and kids at our farm. So if you are looking for a party place where you can get wasted than that's not the right place for you. However we enjoy to sit at the campfire and have a good chat and play some music and drink a beer or two, but not hundreds though!

    We are really looking forward to hearing from helpers all over the world! Just write a short message if you are interested in which you let us know what you can do and offer to be part of the community, how long you would like to stay ( at least 2 weeks!), and a short description of you and of what you expect of us as well. Then we can make contact and I can answer you all your questions!

    Hope to hear from you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are lots of different personalities, children and elderly people who are living here. We are a community where everyone who is open and interested in other cultures. You can get to know the Bavarian culture with its "Gemütlichkeit". And we are always happy if you teach us something about your culture (songs, food, poems, stories, language) as well.

  • Help

    Help

    The work would comprise: help in the household (cleaning, washing, cooking,...), help with the animals (muck out, build fences), help with the garage and barn (sort and clean it out).
    We also have an old caravan in our garden which needs to be refurbished, so we are looking for some skilled people who can help us with that (also to build a terrace).

    We expect work from you for about 4 hours a day and you get 1 days off a week in return of, fresh and loads of food and accommodation.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a very old, but refurbished farm house. Depending on how many helpers we host, you would either have your own room and would share the facilities with us or share the living room with other helpers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Burghausen is 5km from here. You can find many culture, pub's and a big jazz festival in march.

    If you like to come and visit a nice Bavarian countryside let us know.
    We prefer people who are also interested to explore the nature, the region and culture.
    The Alps and the Chiemsee are about an hour away from here. Salzburg, Passau or Munich are worth a visit and beautiful cities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    on average: 24 hours the week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.7)





















































Host ref number: 587693229683