Help with gardening, maintenance and animals in Salmon, Idaho, USA.

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 224 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a married couple who have 3 grown children. Doug has had Parkinson's Disease for the past 21 years which is one reason we need extra help around our 17 acres. Our house is located 10 miles from Salmon, Idaho which is a gorgeous area and our land has a beautiful creek that runs through our property. We love to garden, teach homesteading classes such as soap making, cooking, canning, crafts and dutch oven cooking. We have lots of yard work and day to day maintenance as well as tending to the animals. We only have chickens, a cat and dog "Ruby" that need care givers. We are looking for help in all of these areas as well as general maintenance and some building projects such as refurbishing an old deck. We rent a small cabin and vintage trailer through a site called “Hipcamp” We have a lot of work to do here!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We hope to offer a “live off the land”mentality to all who visit our home. We grow, gather or hunt for most of our food and we hope to teach those who come here a new, more sustainable way of life. Healthy eating is a way of life for us but we love to bake as well.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for volunteers to help grow our small organic lavender gardens. Anyone who might be interested in making bath and body products like soap, balms or crafts would be especially welcome. We are also looking for those interested in teaching cooking classes and "back to basic" techniques. We currently teach soap making, canning, culinary, and a variety of other homemaking skills but are looking to expand to alternative energy, building and other primitive skills. We have a large rustic log cabin with plenty of room to have your own living quarters as well as abundant outdoor opportunities for camping, hunting, fishing, hiking and whitewater rafting. We live on the edge of the Frank Church Wilderness area that provides many outdoor recreational activities.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a large rustic log cabin with separate basement living quarters for guests/volunteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a very remote part of the state that offers many outdoor recreational opportunities such as hunting, fishing, whitewater rafting, hiking, horseback riding, biking and birdwatching. The Frank Church Wilderness, located nearby offers pristine mountains, lakes, rivers and unending beauty. We have raised 3 children, had 5 foster kids, hosted 2 foreign exchange students and one seasonal worker from Colorado. They have all thoroughly enjoyed the outdoors here in Idaho. We encourage everyone who lives here be part of the family by pitching in with chores, work projects, gardening, helping neighbors, cooking or any other activity we are involved in. We are a house full of lots of love and affection and we encourage anyone who wants to live the American Dream to come try it with us!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day occasionally Saturdays- max 25 hours/week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)











Host ref number: 586895818854