Help single mom with free learning children and garden plot near Bern, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

Favourited 489 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/06/2022

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have recently moved to the beautiful Bern area, where I live with my two children in an apartment in a very green neighbourhood with pond and gardening plots. The children are free learners and will be starting at a private democratic school in the middle of August. The school is a small start-up and highly dependent on parent help, so it is possible to be involved in some projects at the school, if you're interested. At home, I try to create an interesting and stimulating environment for the kids, while also carving out some space for my own interests and relaxation.

    I have a small garden plot that I've just taken over and try to convert into a little permaculture paradise. I have broad experience in permaculture gardening from owning a house with big garden in Sweden and taking different courses in permaculture design. Now that I live in a more urban environment, it's a bit of an adjustment, but the challenge is very interesting.

    Me and the children often go on bicycle trips to explore Bern and the nearby countryside. Going to the forest to make a fire is also one of our favourite things to do.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As an intercultural family, we speak Swedish, Swiss German and English at home. Workaway is our way to "travel" right now and we love to hear about different countries, cultures and eat meals from your home country!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I will start working for the federal office of environment and would be thankful for some help with the kids, with cooking, household and, if you like, some work in my small permaculture garden plot.

    I'm looking for a person who is interested in being part of our family for the duration of the stay and is is interested in having a mutually inspiring relationship with the children. We try to live a mindful lifestyle, we love nature and try to live a life as sustainable as possible. We enjoy living a life learner / free learner lifestyle, even though I will start work and the kids will start school 3 days per week. If you are interested in sustainability and alternative education, you're in the right place!

    Sustainability is defined differently by everybody. I think it's important to not get stuck in the details but to be tolerant to each other and help each other in our journey.

    We live an omnivorous lifestyle, but consume very little meat of only the best sources we can find. All the food in our household is organic and if possible locally grown (or from our garden). Vegetarians or vegans are warm welcome, but mutual tolerance is very important.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room in our apartment. We're still just settling in, so if you're good at interior design and decorating, have a go!

    We have a 9 year old female labrador retriever who is very kind, but will steal your food if you're not careful.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The beautiful city of Bern, capital of Switzerland and UNESCO cultural world heritage, is only a 5 minute bike ride away. You can swim in the river or enjoy some of hundreds small shops or cafés. We live at the edge of the village, so walks or bike rides in the countryside are possible. The famous Bernese Highland (Berner Oberland) is easily reached with trains and buses, you can visit rocky mountains and glaciers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You will be living in your own bedroom in our apartment. I currently only have internet on my phone, that I could share occasionally. But if a guest needs internet for work, I could organise something to accommodate this.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.3)











Host ref number: 586389426782