Come and enjoy little farm and guesthouse directly on the beach in Puerto Varas, Chile

Country

Chile

new host  

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Chilean Southafrican family living in Puerto varas, we have a 4 hectare land with beach access and a little farm. We grow vegetables and have a permaculture sistem.
    Javiera runs the cabins and Lathan works at ti. Maya is our 3 year old little girl.
    After a long time running a B&B in Venice, working as a chef, living in Berlin and traveling Europe I am happy to be home again. Opening a Bed and Breakfast in Patagonia was always my dream. I knew the perfect place was in the South of Chile.
    What makes us unique is that the place is located at the shoreline of Lake Llanquihue - the four hectare estate is located amidst relaxing nature featuring access to a marvellous and solitary beach and four comfortable native wood cabins. Though it is still no more than 3km to downtown Puerto Varas but away from the crowds and pollution and near all the attraction areas. At night the sky is so clear, the air is so pure, the stars shine so bright that you certainly get an idea why the Mapuche called this area " hidden paradise". From our cabins our guests experience a wonderful panorama including a lake view on Lake Llanquihue and the volcanoes Osorno, Caulle Tronador and Calbuco.
    The start of Patagonia, the Carretera Austral, and many national parks, so near the end of the world, Puerto Varas and the place is a dream come true for travelers, that shouldn't be missed, because of all the that the area has to offer. Whether you are starting or finishing your trip, you will feel the magic and will have an unforgettable and wonderful time.
    Here there is a lot of space to combine tourism with permaculture. We are eco friendly, we compost, recycle and grow our food organically. We have a little farm with lots of animals.
    We are soon opening a little gift shop so we can develop art proyects, we do ourselves shibori dying, weaving (with our own happy sheep wool) knitting, traditional Chilean food cooking, and hopefully some pottery in the future.
    There are countless things to do and explore around the place and Puerto Varas and everyone is welcome.
    We have two paid workers on the land, a gardener/ maintenance person and a housekeeper.
    We speak fluent Spanish, German, Italian and a bit of French. We look forward to having you here.
    See you soon in the wonderful South of Chile,
    Javiera.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Puerto varas is a marvelous town with lots to offer in terms of outdoors and wildlife, you can explore this amazing area , and in winter you can ski at the volcano, nice places to try local food, and the gate to explore carretera austral. In our land we have an amazing beach, and lots of native birds and plants.

  • Help

    Help

    In general we are looking for either 1 or 2 workawayers to help with animal care help (feeding and taking care of our farm animals, cleaning/hosting help with our guests, gardening, vegetable garden help, basic maintenance and possibly building work depending on your skills. People with no experience are welcome, most important is to love animals and nature.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Afrikaans: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have native wood cabins with beautiful view over the land, with views of the lake and volcanoes. We are close to a main bus route, so you can easily explore the town or get to the main outdoor attractions. You won't need a car to explore most of the area.
    Your room will be a separate studio (with queen size bed) inside the reception building.

    All meals are included in your stay while on a 'help yourself to items provided' basis.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fast fiber optic wifi as we work in it

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Lots of space to park a camper van

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 585652738958