Join our new regenerative agriculture farming adventures at the foot of the Grampians, Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

updated   Last minute

Favourited 2 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/01/2021

 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a newly established regenerative agriculture market garden. We have a 93 acre property located at the foot of the Grampians. We're direct seeding and transplanting, building beds, growing, harvesting and weeding and developing our garden from its current 1/2 acre to 3 acres. We have 50+ beds plus 3 polytunnels for growing pretty much all year round.

    We're looking for someone who wants to help out with day to day activities which include direct seeding, transplanting, thinning, weeding and garden maintenance.
    You will learn lots, grow lots, and join us on the equally rewarding learning adventure along with us! There is no such thing as a typical day, but we're mainly working outdoors, hard at it on really good weather days, and in the polytunnels when it's raining. There's always a fun project going from composting & biochar, to brewing and cooking up great ideas on how to use up all the excess in the garden. We are also a working sheep farm with a friendly horse and an indoor house cat.

    We're a really chill crew including: myself, my 12 year old daughter, and occasional assorted friends, family and guests up for weekends. We eat from vegan to omnivore and cant accommodate just about any dietary requirements or feel free to skill share your favourite dishes. We take turns cooking, share the house cleaning duties, and anything else that needs to be done as we all work together.

    You will have your own room, wifi, Google tv in the lounge, big kitchen, nice back deck and a stellar view of the Grampians and exceptional sunset every night.

    If you have gardening experience and handy with tools thats an added bonus. And if you're keen to work on a project, you will get along with us great!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I love to host people from around the world. I have run a rental property with long term visitors from around the world for 6 years (in Melbourne) and keen to do the same. I can offer great life experiences (have previously lived in 3 countries, multiple states and cities), language, food, arts, culture, music, and fresh air.

    We have a lovely indoor cat named Angel who like to play and cuddle, and a friendly horse out in the back paddock.

    With us you will learn more about regenerative agriculture practices and market gardening, all aspects of marketin garden farming, growing just about everything we can get our hands on and Australian culture.

    I am a digital nomad still working 2 days a week so you know we have great internet ;)

  • Help

    Help

    We live on a working sheep farm but building our sustainable Market Garden is our primary focus. You need to be relatively adept and capable with your hands and body, long hard days include building garden beds, planting vegetables, weeding, building and shaping no-dig garden beds, harvesting vegetables, planting fruit bushes and flowers, planting trees, moving electric fencing lines, building structures, renovating and ongoing farm maintenance etc. We work hard and have fun through our day and we eat well, and then it's early to bed most nights.

    Our work days are full and quieter when it's very hot wet (just means getting up very early). Planning time in advance is a bit tricky with the weather and priorities shifting but you are guaranteed to have what time you will need for your own persuits.

    You'd be asked to help about 25 hours a week. Tasks are various and we can find things that suit your interest and desires to learn.

    We're looking to expand into chickens and pigs and cows when time and budget allow, and if you have a keen desire to help forward that along then that would be most welcome too! A big next project will be building a composting program using ACT (activated Compost teas) and vermiculture amendments to rebuild soil biology (following Soil Foodweb principles).

    In general we are quite flexible, need bodies to help with some long days and short days and everything in between ;)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a quaint old farmhouse with all the amenities.
    You'll have your own room (or share with a partner), wifi, all meals, laundry etc.
    Winters are cold and summers are hot but the back deck has the most gorgeous sunset watching the kangaroos, sheep, and Mount Sturgeon.
    There are great hikes all around between Dunkeld and Halls Gap and some secret swimming holes for the really hot days.
    We're about 3km from the small town of Dunkeld Victoria and get to Hamilton once a week for shopping and chores. It's very quiet and peaceful ;) The house is shared with several adults who are helping out with this project. We love to share a meal at the end of the day, and enjoy our banter during they day, along with a good chuckle. We respect each others space and are generally quiet after dinner, but sometimes gather for a movie or game if we have the energy. My 12 year old daughter joins us part time so we would support other young people in the house ;)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local hikes in Dunkeld, music, climbing in the Grampians, hiking, great cafes locally and the Royal Mail Hotel, nighttime fire barrel burns, watching the sunset and the stars at night. The train comes into Ballarat 3 times a day and from there you take a bus to Dunkeld where we can pick you up (its about 3km from the farm).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have NBN and I already works as a digital nomad so join the collective!

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Lots of space to park and you would be able to use all amenities.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We would be willing to chat about it. We do have a large property with sheep and an indoor cat, so your pet would need to be very well behaved as well.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 558183662533