We need help in turning an old communications site into a habitable multifunctional area an hour from Berlin, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 86 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/01/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    895

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 56 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Self-sufficient and sustainable living, biological and organic gardening, in harmony with the nature and in compliance with the permaculture guidelines. The place is also serving as an event location for cultural and art events influenced by the Berlin Way

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a group of Berliners inside a framework of an association


    who shared the interest in alternative ways of life and events . Somehow we obtained this very special venue with public/military background.Just an hour with fast and easy connections via train or an hour by car Berlin. Close to the Polish border, outside the town of Frankfurt Oder and u definetely feel off the map.

    You re going to learn how we're changing this relict from past times and today so called lost place into a a paradise since one year and all the things needed to keep the place running.Right now we're making facts and things are moving on. Mostly we do stuff step by step by a plan we made before. Everyone has a speciality which he or she brings in,some of us are good with metal working. others lived outside for a decade and come in therefore quite experienced and handy. Others are well in dealing with people or numbers. I'm good with English for instance that's why I do this here

    You're going to help us and learn how to grow organic food via beds that we are creating. gardens etc. We also have a small pieceof forest which is a monoculturual. However we already started making it a natural forest again,The goal is that the forest will become one day the source of our food and will supply us with healthy goods. also we try to avoid unhealthy products and illuminate ourselves what is healthy or not. Of course we also hope to learn from others as well. There are so many things to do here, we seek help i

    The community consists of around 10 people more or less permanently residing here on the spot. We have also kids on free days around and they already made it their most favorite place .We try to give them a better understanding of the nature of all. A couple of dozens ofother people are attached in the background. exchange of knowledge, help and contacts happens on a daily basis and also we are spreading our network in general, since almost everyone has a Berlin background with connections inside the party and alternative scene. even on weekends off there may be a lot of life going on in our yard. friends are coming often from Berlin to help , but also all kinds of people are attracted to here, with interest in the location for alternative living, events, business, or curiousity.

    Furthermore this is a place of Culture & Arts.which is presented in the way we live but also via events. During events/mini festivals that are being promoted here and event preparation/event care multiple qualities are needed and new challenges appear. event days have a lot of workload and require strength but offer also fun and u meet a lot of people which means a lot of networking.
    most of the involved festival crews live then here for 2 weeks which means we have a small village then with lots of nice stuff going on. lot of exchange etc. Most of the core members love to dance, but some do not. during the event itself they just disappear and come back a week later if u find that stressful I recommend the same procedure

    that's it for now for questions feel free to ask

  • Help

    Help

    Fun, Work, Flexible times, community life, relaxed atmosphere..
    Gardening (setting up beds, seeding plants, watering, permaculture techniques)
    Building(Renovating the bulidings step by step, gutting ,core removals+ setting up new water supply, new electricity wires, layering bricks, plastering, painting...)
    Babysitting / child care( From time to time it would be nice to play with the kids so their parents have time for other stuff,you may also educate them, since we prefer alternative ways
    Cooking(Normally everyone does their own meals, however we also eat together, if you like cooking, you're welcome)
    Shopping(We need a driver for popping to the shops)
    General Maintenance(for instance malfunction in the well, which can be handled easily after some introduction,taking out the garbage, mowing the lawn, Cleaning)
    Farming (goes with Gardening)
    Help with Eco project(for instance making our own water, alternative energy supplies,constructed wetlands for wastewater treatment...)
    Help in the house(cooking,Cleaning, repairing, typical house life...)
    Animal care( so far we have a dog and guinea pigs, but we plan to gather chicken and more)
    Helping with Tourists(during an event, taking care of guests or helping)
    Art project
    Other

    some things we're already doing and want to do in the future concerning our home base

    Practicing community life
    Redesigning the old buildings for our purposes(life supply/safety/fun areas/camping sites)
    closed-loop economy / Zero-Waste-Life
    polycultures / mixed cultures
    sustainable timber cultivation and harvest
    soil improvement
    management of nutrition-competitors
    seed production
    cultivation
    usage and building of greenhouses
    permacultural inclusion and keeping of animals


    For the events the following learnings have been made or are still being optimized with every event

    Setting up the conditions and infrastructure in the best way before the events(for instance safety for the guests)
    Saving our home
    Making the work flow more organized( an event with lots of people has always a certain degree of chaos)
    leaning back during the event(because of the good preparation)
    dance and enjoy

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Deutsch,Englisch,Polnisch,Spanisch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a normal house wich offers a couple of rooms with beds, common kitchen, common bathroom and common living room(s) just like in a shared apartment. For the food we thought we are going to buy you the food you need and then u can use the kitchen yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    our location runs throughout the year and you can come here all the time however from october until april its colder and there's not as much action and space, that's why we recommend you to come between may and oct. in your free time you can do whatever you want. I can only mention again that Berlin one of the most exciting cities in the world is just round the corner and Poland with its rich culture is 10 min away

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 493632863641