Come join us, work a little, play a little, explore a little, just 15 minutes outside of Stara Zagora, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/04/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Any volunteers out there

    We have a "rough house" in Bulgaria about 15 minutes outside of Stara Zagora which is cosy downstairs but incomplete upstairs. The house itself is in need of some TLC and the digging of a new larger Cess pit. The thought was to maybe even complete the above floor sufficient to be able to offer it's use for travellers passing through. Being Motorhomers/ Travelers, it would be great having other like minded folk to chill out with. (P.S. old motorhome, nothing fancy, 1988 model)

    The question is not whether I should be using local help or not (which is an option of course) but rather to offer folks out there that could be interested in volunteering a few hours a day in return for a place to lay their head down, food etc while also enjoying the surrounding sites of which there a quite a few within an hours drive in all directions.

    P.S. 2x bicycles available for for use

    I am a South African while Bryony my Wife is from the UK. (She's lived in SA since she was 7 years of age). Generally speaking Bryony and I are very friendly, outgoing and enjoy lots of laughter and fun. Our travel experiences over the years have mostly being "On a shoe string", type touring. Our focus being to interact with locals, experience local culture etc, versus the typical Tourist type traveller. Our stay-overs in cities and towns largely relying on Couchsurfing, Youth Hostels, Camping /old Motor-home , etc.

    We've been fortunate enough to have travelled to many countries over the years this way, both in Europe and the USA so swapping stories always adds much entertainment to a day / night.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We hope that there will be cultural exchange if we have one or two Bulgarian speaking volunteers. Walking around the local village and outlying farms have been known to result in friendly interaction with the generous locals.

    In terms of gaining experience, activities will include building, plumbing, painting, etc. There may even be need for some welding, woodwork, carpentry, etc.

  • Help

    Help

    Various tasks that we will need to complete / start, would be to clean up the garden, dig a hole for the ses-pit, build a sess-pit using available rock on site, painting of walls ( in and outside), possibly fit a shower unit and toilet upstairs, a bit of concrete work on the driveway etc.

    NO experience necessary as I will be working alongside. It's more important just to be willing to muck-in and get involved. Muscle Power will be required for certain tasks such as gardening and hole digging etc.... (not so much thought.

    I'm sure by the end of your stay you will have gained much experience and enjoyed a few great laughs etc.
    I mess around on the guitar so other Muso's company will always be seen as a plus... ( not necessary though)

    P.S. Having "volunteered" and helped others over the years, we subscribe to the principle of humanity supporting each other versus the need to equate service with money generation.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Afrikaans ( variation of the Dutch language)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The current downstairs accommodation will allow for two volunteers. There are additional rooms upstairs which would be less appealing until some work has been completed.

    Our Trusty old motorhome is also available which has a double bed.

    Food and Sustenance
    My wife, plus possibly a volunteer will keep us all well fed by offering Breakfast, Lunch and Supper. One of the daily meals will be cooked while the other two would consist of combinations of Cereal, Bread, Sandwiches, Toasted treats etc. Liquid refreshments will include, coffee, tea, water, cola, etc, and every now and again a few beers to wile away the out-of- work hours, lol. No unruly or rowdy drunkenness will be entertained though.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public buses are available to and from the locations below, however timetables are at this point yet unknown. For trips into Stara Zagora, our vehicle can / will be used on those off days. For trips to other locations you will need to rely on Public Transport or your own. 2x bicycles available for use.

    - ( 15 Minutes away) - Stara Zagora which has much to offer both the Tourist plus the Historian as there are numerous Roman Ruins plus a Great Museum. Cafe's and Tree-Lined Walking Boulevards allow for great wanderings. Music concerts and other activities are known to take place in this city during the summer.

    - ( 30-45 minutes way) - Plovdiv. An awesome City having an Old Town plus Roman ruins including an amphitheater. A MUST SEE!!

    - ( 30-45 minutes) - Kazanluk, Famous for its Roses and it's annual festival . ( check out the dates)

    *️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️ Stara Zagora is half-way between Sofia and the Black Sea, both being about 3 hrs away in opposite directions.*️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️

    If you have your own transport, you will find the borders to Greece and Turkey being about 3 hrs away ( the borders are located close together.)

    In terms of the immediate surroundings, we are located in the centre of a farming village mostly inhabited by older farming stock folk. There are also those retiree's that have happily moved out the the city to enjoy the slower pace of life. Younger married couples that enjoy outdoors seem to be returning to the village as it is within a short distance from the city / work. There is an abundance of locally grown vegetables, fruit etc so no doubt these foodstuffs will become part of the staple diet.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 484178492436