Organic farmstay in Saint-Godefroi, Quebec, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We Annie 37 years old, Joel 41, Felix 5 and Lili 6. We live in an ancestral farm house between the forest and the sea. We have a small, non-commercial but diversified organic farm, of about 30 Acres of land, with about 20 of forest, a one acre garden in which we grow a wide variety of vegetables, fruits, herbs, flowers and medicinal plants, the rest in fields of hay and cereals, a young maple plantation and fruit trees. We raise a Canadian heritage cow and a few dwarf goats for milk, and for fun, a few turkeys and many ducks and hens, for eggs and meat. We also have 2 green houses and a smoke house. We are aiming to be self sufficient as much as possible, so we grow most of our food and medicine, we produce our own wood for heating, fences etc. We restore our house and build our buildings ourselves. Our cow will eventually give us milk, but in the meantime we are training her for animal traction.

    We use different organic methods and are inspired by permaculture. We fertilize with our home-made compost, manure from our animals, home-made compost teas or seaweeds collected on the nearby beach. We do companion planting (plant associations). We use physical barriers and hand picking for pests. We use mulching (straw or hay produced on the farm, seaweed collected on beach or chipped wood from our forest) to cover the crops and limit watering and weeding.

    We do not make any money from our farm. I teach French part time, part of the year, and my partner is a seasonal fisherman; we mostly dedicate to our farm and of course, our kids. We love to share with people, and our place offers a lot of different learning experiences in a very beautiful landscape.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have traveled a lot in the past and are now happy to welcome travelers and show them the way we decided to live. We are both passionate about what we do and we love to share it with others. Joel can teach you about local history and geography, which he is passionate about, and can tell you about lobster fishing, which is the main economic activity here, and I would be happy to teach you french and organic gardening tips. We have many friends living on our street with who we do many activities, so you will get to meet many local people, and experience our way of living.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for motivated people who love nature and are interested in organic agriculture. It is important to us that the people who come here enjoy being around young kids, and farm animals, and are comfortable interacting with them. We prefer that people stay for a minimum of 3 weeks; it makes it easier for everyone to adapt. The work to be done can vary according to the season, our needs and your personal interests and strengths. Here is some tasks you could do according to the season:

    - starting the seedlings, transplanting, planting, weeding, harvesting vegetables, fruits, herbs and flowers, cereals and hay
    - renovations and construction
    - taking care of farm animals
    - milking and making goat cheese and yogurt
    - cooking and preserving food
    - "forest planning"
    - taking care of children (2 kids under 6)
    - wild picking
    - house chores
    - making maple syrup
    - butchering a pig and making sausages, bacon, ham etc.
    - Smoking fish and meat
    - butchering poultry
    - making fire wood
    - Fruit picking and preserves
    - Making apple cider

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide room and board in exchange for 25 hrs of help on the farm.

    We are not vegetarians but only eat meat from happy local animals. We don`t mind adapting our diet for vegetarians. Also, if you like to cook, you are welcome to do so. We love good food, and we enjoy preparing and sharing meals with friends. We will offer you 3 healthy, mostly organic and local, meals a day and don't mind cooking for you, if you do the dishes. You help yourself for breakfast and we eat lunch and supper all together.

    We have a big room with a double bed and a futon (that can turn into second double bed) and a small room with a single bed available. We also have a trailer tent for 5 and a small tent for 2 to lend, for those who would want to experiment camping in summer. We can lend you bicycles, and snowshoes in winter, to visit the areas around our house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off there are great places around here for hiking, snow shooing, walking, bicycling, swimming (in summer of course!), bird watching, fishing, camping etc. Also, there is a couple interesting historical sites to visit, and of course, plenty of beaches to relax. We can lend our bicycles, and snowshoes in winter to those who want to visit the areas around our house.

    It is important to us that the people who come here are respectful and enjoy being around young kids, and farm animals, and are comfortable interacting with them.

    We have 3 cats that come in the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 457739421951