Help renovate our beautiful old stone house in Saint-Chamas, France

Country

France

Favourited 90 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/01/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a family of a mom and 5 unschooling kids (ages 10-20) living in a beautiful old stone house in front of a lake in the South of France, in between Aix-en-Provence, Arles, Avignon, Marseille and Montpellier. We're a painter, a photographer, musicians, illustrators, a dog and 7 cats.
    The fisherman village we live in is postcard-like, with a local farmer market every Saturday. There is a small but very cute beach on the lake in front of our house, it's perfect for windsurfing and kayak. It's nice and quiet here, but we love having big dinners or music jam sessions in the garden. Our village has a train station and buses and is nearby the airport and the TGV train station, so it's easy to use our home as a base for traveling.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In exchange, we'll be happy to welcome you into our family, show you around the Provence region and introduce you to local attractions. If you're looking for specific interests, we can put you in contact with locals.

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for people able to help us renovate our charming 1900s house with traditional Mediterranean methods, and build eco-rental units in our garden.

    We'd be happy to buy the material and the kids will be happy to help.
    If you have any relevant specialties, please let us know! We will be happy to learn.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Hebrew: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the length of your stay and the season of the year, you can sleep either in the bedroom in our attic, our sofa in the living room or build your tent in our garden. There's also a parking for caravans and campervans in front of our house on the beach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Family & friends!
What it looks like when we celebrate birthdays and holidays :)
The view from our house entrance: kitties, green & lake
Host ref number: 414276651235