Help with DIY and outdoor tasks in sunny Nimes, South of France

  • France
  • Favourited 171 times
  • Last activity: 7 Feb 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We are an English couple in Nimes, in the departement of Gard. The property has a very spacious garden yet is very close to the bustling town centre (Pop of Nimes is 150,000) Nimes is a Roman town and there are things to do all year round.. It’s about 35 min from the sea, and near to Avignon, Arles, Uzes and many other beautiful historic towns and villages. The property is comfortable and you will be well fed. The accommodation is a separate, fully-equipped appartment with TV and wifi and loads of books, so you can be independent if you prefer.
    We have reversible air con for winter and summer.
    Sue is a good cook (we are not vegetarian) and an experienced teacher of French and English . Chris still works in UK but comes and goes to Nimes!

    Currently we are working on improving our garden, repairing stone walls, which you need strength for. We have had our pool overhauled and need to treat the wooden deck, as well as the wooden shutters. There’s some indoor painting too.

    We are happy to take couples (king size, single bed + travel cot) and we have a no smoking rule indoors.
    25 hrs of jobs a week, but you are free to decide when/how you do the jobs. You might prefer to work solidly for 4 days and then go out and about for a long weekend. We will do our best to help you see the sights.

    We have a lovely place and as you can see from our feedback, we love hosting people. If you have skills or experience which can help us, we would love to hear from you

    Workaway is a wonderful set-up for active people. We have been lucky to meet and become friends with some amazing people. We always look forward to meeting new travellers who can help us, and whom we can help in return.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can walk into town from the house. Nimes has a vibrant atmosphere with bars and restaurants.
    Visiting local historical and beauty spots: Uzes, Pont du Gard, Aigues Mortes, Arles, Uzes, Avignon and the Med are all within reach. There are very good transport links and I am happy to help you get to where you want to go. It’s a great area for walking and biking (we have a bike you can use)
    I can help workawayers improve their language skills (French/English)

  • Help


    We are looking to host someone who has experience of working already, preferably having skills that fit our jobs.
    Indoor jobs: some woodwork, shelving, painting,
    Outdoor jobs : making new garden area, tree pruning, building drystone wall,

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Independent, well equipped accommodation with Wifi and TV available. Separate studio with kitchen and bathroom, private terrace and garden. There's a big pool and shady places to relax,swim and enjoy some tasty food, or if you prefer, I will buy food for you to cook for yourselves.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are now on our eleventh year of welcoming Workawayers, and we love making new friends and introducing them to this beautiful part of France. The area is rich in history, great for cultural activities, also sport such as running, cycling, canoeing, you name it. The garden and pool are delightful and great for relaxation. Hope to hear from you....

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of room

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hrs weekly, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 388954412143

Feedback (10)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)