Help me to build a greenhouse and practice my English outside Eskilstuna, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, my name is Liselott and I live with my three cats, Eskil, Sigrid and Viola in a typical Swedish country house surrounded by the forest. I enjoy spending my rainy days indoors keeping my hands busy with knitting, crocheting and various "do-it-yourself" projects. Outside is a cozy garden with a lot of potential where I spend a lot of time during the sunny days. I want to improve it and that's where I would like the most help from volunteers.

    Currently I am studying an interesting course called Recycle Design. It goes hand in hand with my interest of using the normally "unwanted" materials. This course is full time which means I am away 8am to 4pm most days. You will see the recycle mentality through out my house. It is wonderful if you share the same interest or just open to learn more about it! We do many fun things together as a class which you are able to join in on like going to music gigs, exhibitions, philosophy cafe, craft nights, hiking walks, dinner parties, indoor climbing. I am one for trying new things so bring your craziest ideas!

    Another interest of mine is scuba diving! To explore the world underneath the surface is something I find magical. Though it's been a few years I acquired Dive Master certificate and am able to instruct others a bit. In Eskilstuna there is a diving center to go courses but if you are extremely keen to dive perhaps we can go on a weekend trip to a more exciting destination!

    Eskilstuna centre is 15 min drive from the house. You are more than welcome to borrow my bike when I'm away and I can drive you to places of interest. Otherwise there is a bus that will drop off and pick you up from the big road a few kilometers from the house.

    Every other weekend 8 year old Erika comes to stay with me who I look after. She is an enthusiastic and creative young spirit who needs a bit of assistance. We go on excursions and do many crafts together!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    To experience the Swedish culture with traditional food, music, nature and conversation!
    English and Swedish language exchange and practice. I can also teach you Swedish sign language! We can do many things (after school) like indoor climbing, hiking, visiting Swedish cultural and historical spots, go diving. If you are interested in learning old and new hand craft techniques like book binding, basket and carpet weaving, knitting, crocheting, sewing, screen printing, furniture tapestry and much more. And most of all hopefully widen your perspective on reusing wasted materials!

  • Help

    Help

    I would love to use my garden to its full potential so this year I want a green house but need help building it! During summer there is general gardening work to be done. My hallway needs some work on the walls and a lamp to be installed. Help building a shelf storage for the harvested vegetables would be much appreciated as well! There are little things around the house to tinker with and improve.

    Most of all I am eager to get to meet people with different cultures, stories and personalities. My english needs practicing and I can help you with your Swedish if that is something you are learning.

    The main focus is the green house otherwise your stay here can be very relaxing and an opportunity for you to explore another part of Sweden and enjoy the nature.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a small spare bedroom but which is lacking a locking door and instead has a curtain for privacy. If you are handy then we can look at other options like building a sliding door. We share the bathroom and kitchen and eat dinner together. I would love to try food from your country!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2

summer party at the house!
Host ref number: 355767489894