Learn permaculture, offgrid living, meditation and plant-powered food in Andalucia, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 789 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    794

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are is a 4000sqm smallholding located above the village of Lanjaron in Las Alpujarras of Granada. It sits at an altitude of 1100m above sea level with a view of the Mediterrenean Sea on the horizon, and on clear days, the coastline of North Africa.

    David (35, from England), Celia (39, from Spain), and our two daughters, Alma-Blossom (8) and Rowen (5) are the permanent residents on the land. When we arrived 3 years ago, the land was empty except for some olive trees that had clearly been neglected for some time. The soil was mostly bare, a compacted red clay that looked pretty infertile.

    Since then, we have built a small straw bale house to live in, and have crowdfunded and planted a permaculture food forest which has dramatically changed the appearance of the land. We’ve worked hard on improving the soil and the vegetable garden is really coming along.

    We are increasingly interested in water management and would like to head in the direction of specialising in this area. We’ve already done a lot with rain water harvesting, both in tanks and in the soil through earthworks, and we’re looking into establishing and efficient greywater system.

    We receive between 1 and 4 volunteers on a work exchange from the beginning of April until the end of June, and then from mid-August to the end of September. We ask for 5 hours of work a day, 5 days a week in exchange for full-board, or 3 hours per day, 5 days a week and you pay for your own food. The minimum stay is 1 month. The work tends to be a mixture of agricultural, construction, housework and child care. Volunteers should be happy to work in any and all of these fields.

    Volunteers camp in tents next to a caravan which acts as their kitchen / living room. We have a dry composting toilet and the shower is outside, but with hot water coming from a solar water heater.

    The food is simple, nutritious, delicious and mostly organic. Volunteers prepare their own breakfast and lunch in the caravan, whereas lunch is eaten all together at our house. Lunch tends to be vegan, but there are sometimes local eggs and cheese available for those who desire for dinner. The drinking water comes from a spring which we share with neighbours. According to analysis, it’s extremely pure, purer in fact than the bottled Lanjaron mineral water!

    We have a modest solar power system which is enough for people to charge their phones and laptops during the day. There is internet via ethernet cable in the caravan, available during the day until 8pm. It works fine for skype and email, but not for heavy downloads.

    The village of Lanjaron is a half an hour walk away on the way down and 45 mins on the way up (depending of course on a person’s hiking prowess!). If we are going down by car to do something, volunteers can sometimes get a lift. From the village there are bus connections to other areas of Las Alpujarras, as well as to the coast and to Granada, which may be interesting for the 2 days off a week.

    A little extra we offer is a sitting meditation workshop followed by weekly group meditations (about twice a week) in our Mongolian yurt which acts as our office / temple. Strictly optional!

    Is the place you need if you need time for yourself, your studying, or being in nature.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is for those wanting to change their life style and learn new skills, without forgetting the spiritual side of life; We want you to experience and learn a different way of living, organic, more sustainable, and share our daily life. If you want to improve your spanish or english, we can talk to you in the prefered language. WE DON´T MIND, and we were both teachers in the past.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment we will need SOCIAL MEDIA VOLUNTEER AND PHOTOGRAPHER.
    Our activities planned are:
    General care of the permaculture project Food forest.
    General childcare of Alma and Row
    REAL NEED FOR SOCIAL MEDIA VOLUNTEER AND PHOTOGRAPHER

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Inglés, español, alemán, francés, catalán, entre otros.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In tent, with access to a little cute caravan.
    The accomodation at the moment is in a big tent (Glamping but shared). We also have a little caravan, where you can have breakfast and spend some of your free time. The caravan is our multifunctions room, also PLAYROOM for the girls (our two daughters, Alma and Rowen, 6 and 3)

    En tienda más caravana.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are mainly vegan (plus sometime, honey or eggs). We do not usually eat meat on the farm. We also live with two girls, so if smoke volunteers are asked to do so in private, and always respectful of the space. We don´t mind sharing a bit of wine on an special occasion but we try not to drink alcohol.

    Very important is that we have kids, and they like to spend time, speak and play with us all. :) YOU NEED TO BE READY TO TALK AND PLAY WITH ALMA AND ROWEN if they suddendly pop up towards you.

    The area is breathtaking there are amazing walks that start on the doorgate, facing the ocean. Surprisingly near town, so that is also a plus.

    Somos veganos (comemos a veces miel o huevos). No solemos comer carne en la finca También vivimos con dos niñas, así que si los voluntarios fuman, se pide que lo hagan en privado, y siempre respetuosos con el espacio. No nos importa tomar un vino o beber una cerveza en ocasiones especiales, pero no cada día y no aquí.

    Nuestras dos niñas son muy sociales y cariñosas, y les gusta hablar y jugar con nuestros invitados... te tienen que gustar los niños!
    La zona es INCREIBLE por su belleza, varias rutas de montaña que comienzan desde la finca...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week


















Host ref number: 338495173534