Spend the summer with a family of 4 in one of the islands of the Azores, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young (always!!) couple with 2 young children. A little 3 year old girl who is very sociable and loves to make new friends and a baby boy who will be 1 year old in July. I'm (Julia) a doctor and work at the local health center everyday and Pedro is a trainer for the Erasmus + program. We also have an organization and are planning to develop some activities in the island - São Jorge.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our family is Portuguese and my husband and I have lived in different countries of the EU and have travelled and developed projects in different parts of the world. That is why we want our kids to have these intercultural experiences, so that they grow up feeling like global citizens and, despite the cultural and language differences, we want them to feel that they live in a world without borders!

  • Help

    Help

    We are gonna spend the summer (July - September) in one of the islands of the Azores. We would like to have someone (the same for the whole time) to help us with the kids, take care of them, play and, sometimes, prepare some basic baby food (some soup and snacks). You wont be asked to clean the house (well your room, of course) or do any shopping.
    At home we use non-formal education, attachment play, autonomous learning, learning for sustainability and positive parenting. We also use non-violent communication as our main rule in the house! We all lose control with kids sometimes, they really test your patience but we try to change the focus of the tantrum (theirs and ours) in order to keep a stress free atmosphere. If you want to deepen your knowledge there are a lot of free materials online and we can lend you some books at your arrival. Just look for Marshak Rosenberg, Rudolph Steiner, Aletha Solter, John Holt.
    We want to choose a volunteer who will stay with us for the whole time we stay in the island but we would like to get to know you first. We require that you spend at least 1 week with us in Tomar, Portugal. We will pay for your plane ticket to come to the Azores with us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, Spanish, English, French, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house has 3 bedrooms. We sleep with the kids in one of the bedrooms and have 2 free ones. One of the bedrooms has a big bed and will be your bedroom, unless we have a couple visiting when we will kindly ask you to change rooms (just because of bed size!). The toilet and living room/kitchen will be shared with us. The house as a garden and a marvelous view to the ocean and another island, Pico.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The island is beautiful and has a lot of hiking trails and natural swimming pools and summer here is just like living in paradise! The public transport is not so good but during the summer there are a lot of tourists and even locals who don't mind to give you a lift if you need. We will also try to take a car to the island so we can move around easily.
    During the weekends you can visit the other islands from the triangle (Pico and Faial). There are daily boats.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 337944241976