Join our family of five on the beautiful Central Coast of California, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 627 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I have 3 boys, ages 14, 11 and 8. We live on an acre of property on the beautiful central coast of California.

    We have a dog, cats, chickens, and ducks.

    Our boys are active in sports and in 4-H. I stay home to raise my boys. My husband works full-time. We love to spend time outdoors hiking, fishing, camping, and taking trips around California visiting family and friends.

    We only host international guests.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're happy to share our life with you and hope that you will join with us in family outings and activities. We live in a beautiful part of California and would love to share it with you!

    We are located on the beautiful central coast of California. Monterey Bay is just 20 minutes away. You can visit the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the Elkhorn Slough to experience ocean life first hand. We have a kayak and bicycles you can use. Santa Cruz is 30 minutes away and is another tourist destination in our area. It is the home of the Santa Cruz Beach Board Walk. Big Sur and the Ventana Wilderness offer world class hiking and backpacking opportunities. We live in the middle of wine country with many opportunities for wine tasting. San Francisco is about 2 hours from our home. We'd be glad to loan out a vehicle if you pay for the gasoline.

    One of our favorite parts of workaway is tasting foods from other countries. We would love it if you cooked a meal or two from your country to share with us.

    We would love to learn about you, where you are from, your culture and life experiences and look forward to the cultural exchange aspect of workaway.

    We only host international guests.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I am always looking for help in the house with daily life. I can use help with cooking, cleaning, organizing and doing the laundry. I have three active boys so things can get loud, crazy and messy around here and I struggle to keep up with everything. If you love to clean and organize, we would love to host you!

    We have many projects to work on around our house and yard. These include repairing fences, building chicken coops, landscaping, working in the gardens, restoring a claw foot bathtub and installing it in the house, installing a wood stove, cleaning chicken coops and general upkeep of the property, including raking, weeding, sweeping and mowing.

    We only host international guests.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am learning Spanish and would love to host a native speaker for a language exchange! We are also happy to help you practice and improve your English skills, no matter what language you speak!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a guest bedroom with a queen size bed and a private bathroom in our home. No smoking please. Food for breakfast and lunch will be provided. We typically eat dinner together as a family. We would love it if you joined us at our family dinners.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Wifi available

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


















Host ref number: 332262663818