Come learn traditional crafts and Indian dyeing techniques in a quiet and peaceful part of New Delhi, India

Country

India

Favourited 603 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1068

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!

    Welcome to our quiet and peaceful Artist's residence in New Delhi, India's most bustling city. I am a textile artist specialising in working with indian crafts and traditional techniques of dyeing such as shibori, resist dyeing, itajime, Bandhani. I have a postgraduate degree in textile design and I have spent time in France learning textile weaving. I live here in Delhi with my sister, a space stylist, and with us you can learn the art of transforming materials into art through varied processes. You will get to work with local artisans and experiment with dyes and techniques.

    I own a label which sells sarees (traditional indian wear) , western shirts, scarves and stoles. I also do mixed media production using recycled paper and threads. You will be helping me with production for this label in exchange for meals and a comfortable bedroom in our bunglow in New Delhi. We live a vegetarian life and that means that we also don't eat eggs, as is the norm in India.

    Please message me for information about my label.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am happy to teach you some Hindi. You will be surprised to know that it shares a lot of similarities with European languages! You can also learn the delicate art of cooking food with Indian spices, a cusine that is sure to impress you.

    You will learn important street skills such as crossing a road in India, bargaining in markets, etc.

  • Help

    Help

    I am preferably looking for people with a background in arts, crafts, graphic design, etc. If you can send me pictures of your work, that would be great! I would love to learn from people or even do collaborative projects with them. People with knowledge of new crafts and skills are more than welcome. I would love to learn something like paper-making, felting, cooking vegan food, etc!

    Even if you don't have a background in arts, as long as you have a good eye for design and are interested in learning new techniques, I am happy to host you.

    We will be spending time dyeing textiles and paper, and experimenting with new techniques in order to make innovative handcrafted products.

    I am also looking for people with knowledge of web design, photography and social media expertise who can help me with other aspects of my brand.

    If you are here for a longer time, there is the possibility of taking you along with me to my hometown of Calcutta (Kolkata) to develop ceramic products at an artist's studio or to the city of Bhuj, in Gujarat, which is well known for its handicrafts.

    Speaking french is a plus, since I didn't pick up much during my time in France but would love to be able to speak it.

    I am looking for volunteers for longer periods of time, about 2 weeks or more but let's start with a week and see how it goes.

    Always lots to do, but you will have lots of space and personal time too. Time for meditation and self-healing, time to understand and reflect on life's journey.

  • Languages spoken

    Bengali (Bangla): Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Hindi: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A double bedroom with an ensuite bathroom. There is a shower in the bathroom.

    We eat breakfast, lunch and dinner and some tea in the evening. You are welcome to join us. There are several restaurants in the area that you could go to as well. You are welcome to use the kitchen to cook something for yourself. Since we are vegetarian, we would request you to not bring any kind of meat, fish, gelatine containing products or eggs into our home.

    India is known for its tea. If you are a coffee drinker, I have recently purchased a South Indian style coffee percolator which might interest you. Other than that, there is instant coffee powder at home and a Starbucks about 15 minutes away.

    If I am hosting 2 different workawayers, they will get their own rooms.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Delhi has a lot of interesting museums and sights to see. The nightlife scene here includes lots of terrace bars, clubs and lounges. There is a metro station nearby and Delhi has a good metro network. All metro trains have air conditioners in them. The metro is a great way to avoid the traffic. For areas unconnected by the metro, taxis, especially Uber, are a great way to get around. The maximum you can expect to pay is about Rs. 350 for an hour long journey (~5 USD, 4 GBP, 5 EUR).
    Being the capital of India, all embassies are in the city should you require any help from your country's embassy. There are hourly flights to major Indian cities. Cities like Jaipur and Agra, where the Taj Mahal is, are accessible by bus or a hired car. There is a large mall nearby with some great food options.
    I can help you get a sim card with internet if you don't have one already.
    I often have family visiting, who would be glad to meet you. I will also introduce you to my aunt and uncle, who live in a separate part of Delhi and own a well designed bar/lounge about 45 minutes from here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 329166547577