A couple of weeks stay in a small town near Stockholm, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 301 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an open-minded, down-to-earth honest and caring family who loves adventures and to have fun. Apart from me Elsa and my husband Micke, we have three children; a boy born 2006 and two girls, one born 2009 and the youngest 2012. They love to go on the trampoline, play games, go on their bikes…more or less all activities outdoor as well as indoor. We also have a very friendly little indoor rabbit, he's great fun.

    Since we have lived in Boston for a year, the older children speak English. I also know French.

    We live outside a smaller town (~22 000 inhabitants) 40 minutes by train from Stockholm. There is a nice lake with a beach 5 minutes walk from the house where it is also possible to play beach volleyball and miniature golf.
    We are very lucky to have an outdoor spa and a sauna which you are free to use.

    Since both Micke and I work a lot and we have quite a big garden, a few building projects that we'd like to finish we really need someone to help us out. Tell us what you like doing and I am sure we can find a way that we can make your visit to as a good experience as well as great help to us!

    This is our second summer trying out the workaway concept and the visitors we've had so far have been fantastic. The way they have contributed and helped us has been amazing.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We’re a family of global influence having lived in Boston. I have also spent a few years in Australia (my sister still lives there), lived in France, England and Switzerland, we love travelling and meeting new people.

    We live close to Stockholm but also towns like Västerrås and Strängnäs. We can also offer the best of Swedish wildlife; 5 minutes walk from the house there is a lake good for swimming and fishing (fishing license might be needed).

    The area is fantastic for walking or cycling , we have bicycles here for you to use to explore the area. The track starts only meters from our house.

  • Help

    Help

    We are interested in motivated and practical people who likes to have fun. We’re very relaxed and enjoy having visitors, especially ones that like to help out!

    Your job can be gardening, housework, cooking, baking, cleaning, childcare (spend time with the kids when they get back from school, do homework and other), occasionally there is some building and fixing. If you’re into sports our kids love to play ping pong, badminton, soccer, beach volleyball and all sorts of kids’ games. Our kids love to go to the pool, maybe you could take them?

    You can let us know what you like to do and we're sure we can find a mix of work that will make your experience here good as well as very valuable to us.

    We offer meals and accommodation in exchange for 5 hours work a day. You decide which days in the week you'd like off. We can make flexible hours to accommodate for your "exploring Sweden plans". Together make a daily plan for a week at a time.

    We love to cook and enjoy a nice meal together. We have two "teams" in this house; the team cooking and the other clearing the table and making sure the kitchen is back to "spick and span condition" after the meal. Sometimes you might be part of one team, sometimes the other, whatever suits the plans of that day!

    We see that the duration of a stay is around a couple of weeks , it's fantastic to have people visiting us, lovely big dinners and the house full of laughter and fun. We also appreciate the times when it is only the five of us so we try to plan so we get this time on our own every now and then.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will sleep in our cosy and warm caravan so you get your own little private bed-room.

    You will be expected to prepare breakfast for yourselves and one other meal. Basic food is provided for this, if there is anything in particular you like the supermarket is not far, we can help you get there. We’re happy to take vegetarians , we eat meat but also a lot of vegetarian food. If you have any favorite dishes we’d love to learn how to make them, food is an important part of our life...as well as all helping out making sure the kitchen looks nice at all times.

    There is wi-fi.
    We appreciate that you are a non-smooker and needless to say no drugs whatsoever is accepted.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Welcome travelers, we look forward to getting to know you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Come and spend some fun weeks with us mixing house- and gardening work with nice relaxing times!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 325599275177