Help our family in a beautiful woodland paradise right on the sea in West Cork, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    147

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a lively fun family packing everything into life. Both with jobs we love. I work with the community and he develops agro-forestry -planting trees and keeping sheep. We have three independent and creative children ages 9,10 and 12.

    Our home is a huge old Georgian mansion in 17 acres of woodland on the sea front with private access to the water and use of boat/kayaks.

    We would welcome you to share the fun and passion of our world in exchange for sharing the chores and running of the home and land. We are on the Wild Atlantic way in West Cork, Ireland.

    We also plant trees and manage sheep on a further ten acres twenty minutes from our home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have such a beautiful woodland paradise right on the sea. You can enjoy the surroundings or take adventures along the Wild Atlantic way. We will connect you with interesting and adventurous people, music and culture. I work in community development so always many interesting projects and community activities.

    We speak English, French, German and Dutch.

    You may use our kayaks or take out one of the boats to catch fish for the bbq, use of bikes and maybe motorbike if you prefer! Unlimited wifi for skyping home, good food and plenty of it! Generally just great crack ...laid back, happy warm home. He is developing agro-forestry, especially with Elm and native hardwood trees and with sheep and lambs between the trees. You may learn a lot here.

    We have also piano, guitars, drum kit and saxaphone it you like to make some music. There is also table tennis table, table football and such like.

  • Help

    Help

    We would welcome anyone who can contribute to our home and lives generally . This would mean perhaps preparing meals and light housework, creative adventures with the children(or just being in the house to keep an eye out for cut knees) , planting/ pruning trees, renovation of old buildings, garden maintenance work, caring for sheep and animals.

    All skills can be learned once there is a good attitude. We both work hard and play hard!

    We expect four hours average work a day for food and accommodation. We can agree different hours to match your travel and adventure plans and of course the weather!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a huge old Georgian mansion house with six bedrooms so we have tons of space for you! Nothing is quite perfect and everything is a little quirky! We can offer you a bedroom in our home. This will be your own private space. For the rest you are invited to be part of our home.

    All food/ingredients will be provided. We do eat together as a family at mealtimes. Help and inspiration with cooking will be much appreciated. You are of course welcome to raid the fridge day or night! The garden is about 17 acres of mixed woodland, an old walled garden and water-front with a private slipway. We are walking distance to the local village which is at an intersection of roads to all the best tourist locations.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Life is brilliant but there is just so much of it! We just had lambing season and needed to bottle feed a set of twins. Just another job to add to the daily list! We could really use some help around here! We are very used to having guests.

    Often backpackers will wander down our driveway in the summer as it is an inviting place in a tourist area and they might stay with us a while. For my work I look after twenty staff in different community projects so we are good to look after people very well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 324936215447