Help to restore a traditional Italian house and assist me in video/Photo editing and website developping, Tonengo di Mazze, Italy.

Country

Italy

Favourited 432 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1148

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    52.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Alexia, I am an art historian, cultural critic, independent researcher, photographer.
    I have been living + working in different countries (Brazil, Cuba, Haiti, Senegal, Congo, Morocco, Oman, Spain, France, UK). I am polyglot, I speak fluent English, French, Spanish, Portuguese and some Arabic and wolof.

    I am mainly based in London, during summer I am back to my village, Tonengo di Mazze, 30 km north of Turin.
    During this time, I welcome people from anywhere in the world to help me with:
    - house's maintenance ( electricity, plumbing, ban cleaning)
    - editing in Photoshop CS6 and FINAL
    - web site design
    IMPORTANT:
    TIME IS PRECIOUS FOR YOU+FOR ME. Therefore dont write generic email + be specific on what you can do. Please dont offer things that I did not ask for.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I dedicated my life to knowledge, I grabbed it everywhere I could find it.
    At the center of this endless exploration of TRUTH, lies the encounter and the dialogue.
    I am an extension of you, you are an extension of me.
    What is important is to be able to inspire, to empower the Other.
    All we need to change the world, it is inspiration.

  • Help

    Help

    There will be "a test period" in the the first 2-3 days, to find out if the volunteer is compatible with my personality and with my requirements.
    The work required includes house renovation, roof maintenance/building, plumbing maintenance, CS6 photoshop, Final cut editing, web site developping
    I dont host smoking people.

  • Languages spoken

    Arabic: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Since the house is under renovation, at the moment there is only a double bedroom available with bathroom/ kitchen shared.

    The house has two large piemontese roofs in terracotta tiling positioned on either side of a large courtyard. The plan for the future, perhaps this summer, is to repair these roofs. More immediately, there is plumbing work to do on the first floor of the house where I live. When the first floor plumbing has been fixed, you will have your own bathroom : which will be even nicer than mine ! Part of the work could be organising the old agricultural equipment that is in the barn on the opposite side of the courtyard. The barn was once also a house and may return to that purpose in the future.

    The first floor where you will stay, has a long south facing veranda with metal work to be repainted. At the end of the veranda,there is an open terrace area which I use for sitting out in the summer and which was used for drying tomatoes,maize (corn) and other produce.

    The volunteer's room is on the first floor. To get there, you go up a flight of outdoor steps. The first floor is more modern than the ground floor which is a typical piemontese house with a vaulted ceiling. The house dates from 1850 and was the first to be built in the village.
    Besides the maintenance's works in the house, I need skills in video editing and photography editing (CS6, Final cut) for a documentary multimedia project I am working on.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours a week

room to be restored
Mazze's church
surrounding countryside
my bedroom
host bedroom
laundry
Portrait of me by Francis Armet
surrounding countryside
Panorama over the river Dora Baltea
courtyard







Host ref number: 294293999173