Give a hand on our land while exploring Canadian nature in Calgary, Canada

  • Favourited 48 times
  • Last activity: 13 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello!
    We are a young 35 year old couple with no children. We just moved to a small acreage 5 minutes west of Calgary and are looking for help with gardening and fencing projects this summer. Unfortunately, I have broken my arm and am unable to do a lot of the outdoor projects by myself.
    We have two very well behaved dogs, and two young horses. We have a large private room with its own bathroom available to a single person or a couple.
    Our house is warm and inviting, with a very casual laid back atmosphere where you can come and go as you please, or join us on our many adventures to the mountains or the family ranch.
    From our house you can get a glimpse of the Rocky Mountains and you can walk to the elbow river. The large 4 acre yard is peaceful and private.
    We enjoy ranching, hunting, fishing, and everything outdoors. we are very involved with the Calgary Stampede, and love sharing our Western Canadian heritage.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our property is located at the base of the Rocky Mountains, 1 hour drive to Banff.
    Or we are 15 minutes drive from downtown Calgary.
    We have multiple rural properties across Alberta and spend our spare time out at the family land, with horses, or hunting and fishing. You are welcome to join us, or branch off and explore the mountains in your own way.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a very broken elbow, and it’s so hard for me to not be able to do yard projects.
    I’d love help with gardening, yard work, tree pruning, fencing, pressure washing, raking leaves, dog walking.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A large private room with a giant window, closet, and ensuite bathroom with steam shower.
    Meals are casual, we tend to cook at home often.
    Help yourself to breakfast, if there are special dietary requirements we can work around the groceries needed for that.
    Most dinners we have wild game or fish we harvested ourselves. Elk, bison, deer, walleye, salmon etc. or our family raised Alberta beef. Vegetarians may not be a suitable fit. :)

    Location & Logistics:
    We are located 5 minutes west of Calgary, 1 hour from Banff. Although very close to Calgary, you are in rural Alberta and public transportation is very limited in our province. With good notice and communication, we may be able to give you a ride to Calgary, Cochrane or Canmore. But this is by no means a guarantee of transport. If you’re looking to regularly hangout in towns and cities, this may not be the place for you (unless you have a car, of course).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 292385217927

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Life on Lake Ontario, Kingston.
French-English family on the East Coast of Canada