Wild, off-grid home and permaculture garden in North West Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 157 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE: We’re now fully booked up until the end of August, do be in touch if you’re available September-October time!

    We are a retired couple living on a 7-acre non-profiting croft on a remote off grid peninsula in the glorious north west highlands of Scotland. There are about 80 others living on the Scoraig peninsula - a mix of creative folks of all ages. To get here you must get a boat across a loch or walk in along a lovely cliff track for five miles. We are as self-reliant as possible and grow much of our own food using Permaculture principles. It is very peaceful, wild and beautiful. When you are not helping, you can swim, walk, read and relax on the croft. Our diet is organic, mostly pescatarian/vegetarian. We can cater for vegans, gluten-free etc. Every day or so we collect salad using wild and cultivated plants. You will learn this valuable skill. Every morning we practice meditation which you are free to participate in.
    We have many on-going projects including building extentions to our wooden house and expanding the other dwellings including the Workaway home. We have a workshop restoring equipment/machinery and making needed things from scratch. We often go on foraging expeditions to the mainland to find resources for our projects. Never a dull moment.!
    we like to gather round our outside fire to eat and make music with the neighbours.
    staying with us will help you aquire many very useful skill to take with you for the rest of your life!

    It is most important that you understand that we live in a place that needs a considerable amount of time to become familiar with how things are here on the croft. For that reason we ask that people come for a minimum of 2 weeks but would prefer a month stay.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workaways would learn about the reality of living in a remote and off grid community. They can also learn about permaculture, growing herbs and foraging, building with recycled materials and many ancillary activities.

  • Help

    Help

    We are now actively looking for help primarily with small DIY building tasks, all of which involve using recycled materials!

    Andy is engaged in building innovative structures so he would welcome a strong person (male or female) to help him. Jessie would love to have help with the garden, and house maintainance, cooking etc.

    Note we are not a business and do not make any profit from your help here on the croft. Tasks will be alongside Andy or Jessie helping with small building, gardening and art projects.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a large wooden house as primary Workaway residence or will get your own small wooden hut which can be used by a couple or a single person. It is basic but has a comfortable bed and a sofa. You will use a compost toilet and or a hot bath/wash in the house. (occasionally there are water shortages in the summer and bathing water is scarce and people need to take this account ) . Its very peaceful and beautiful. We are planning to extent this dwelling this summer and you will probably be engaged in building you home!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is hard to get off the peninsula and there is no public transport when you do, some people hitch hike if they need a lift. We may be able to collect you or get a lift for on your way here and out but not during your stay. There are no shops or pubs here. It would suit people who enjoy swimming outdoors, walking or relaxing in nature and reading or creative type activities.
    We have very fast unlimited internet connectivity.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is fast internet connection available in our communal house.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You will have to leave any vehicle in the car park at the pier head opposite Scoraig. (Badlaurach) then cross the Loch by regular ferry. (Monday Wednesday and Friday at 11am)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 234152198584