Hidden Valley is welcoming you in South-West Algarve, Portugal.

Country

Portugal

Favourited 395 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey!

    Our names are Sam, Eleonora, Alex, Jasmine and Maya. We are looking for some like minded people to come and join us on this beautiful piece of land 10km south from Aljezur to help us in the creation of something beautiful!

    We are all around 30 years old having had a fair bit of study/work/travel experience we decided it was the time to dive into something a bit bigger. This is where Ele, Sam and Maya met Alex and Jasmine, the owners of the land. We have been collaborating with them for the least year and we are bringing their project forward while they take a year off to pursue other activities around Europe. We are trying to find our own way of living an alternative lifestyle. One that involves community living, sharing, caring and most importantly a respectful relationship with our surrounding environment. If this resonates with your way of thinking we would love to have you on board.

    So a few things you should know.....

    -ABOUT US
    We are open minded, friendly and outgoing people. We love to live an active lifestyle (, Yoga, climbing, running, hiking and of course working on the land). We love our music, both playing it and listening to it. We are vegetarians and animal lovers. We try to live the permaculture lifestyle to the best of our abilities. We are social creatures and love a good night out. We always eat together! We love learning new things (languages, cultures, skills).
    -ABOUT THE PLACE
    The land is 5 ha so plenty of space. We live 20 minutes from Aljezur and 30 minutes from Lagos. The last 5 minutes of road heading toward us are pretty bumpy. Our home is completely off the grid and everything is solar powered. We have a house which we use for cooking, eating, storage and as a work space. We have an indoor bathroom but prefer to use the outdoor shower and compost toilet. We have plenty of sleeping arrangements available. We do have WiFi:)
    -ABOUT OUR SCHEDULE
    We normally work 3 days a week (Mon/tue/wed). Thursday we take some time for ourselves whether it is, hiking, playing some music or just relaxing. The weekend is then spend primarily of the land. We organise a couple of event off the land, Sam goes busking and Eleonora has a job for an Italian pizza slice place. Together we give some AcroYoga classes in Sagres or other villages around. Maya moves around with her Van exploring the areas around and maybe you can get a ride with her as well! So, it is up to you to decide how you want to spend these days. You can come with us and join in with our activities, spend some time at the beach or simply stay on the land and enjoy the peace and quiet.

    Our home is beautiful and we are sure that you, just like we did, will fall in love with it upon arrival. We would love to have a bit of a community vibes going on during this summer and hopefully also during the longer distance future!


    It would be great if you let us know a bit more about yourself, your skills and interests!

    PS: We are currently unable to provide volunteers food.
    We do a weekly shop all together at the local market, you can join us if you want :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We adopt permaculture as a way of living. With us you can learn about clay works, building natural homes, food production and ecosystem restoration. In particular Eleonora is focusing all her attention in the vegetable garden and making experiments with companion plants as well as with different kind of soils texture, compost usage and water maintenance capacity. Sam is into his music world, always happy to share and experiment with new people.
    We are generally sporty people and like to go running together or do some other sort of exercise almost every morning if we can (wake up in time) :). We also enjoy a hike or two discovering new areas around the valley. We are keen on all sorts of language and cultural exchange with our volunteers.

  • Help

    Help

    - HOUSE:
    Kitchen: lamp shades, walls painting
    Living Room: Electric system, wooden floor, plastering the walls with clay from the land, painting with natural colours.

    OUTSIDE:
    General vegetable garden activities, slush and cut to free Medronio plants, making the space more beautiful (cut grass, build more structures, plant trees, etc) finish the compost toilet, building a dry wall.

    We would love to have musicia\artists around to practice and learn together!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, german, english, spanish, portuguese, french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For sleeping we have Willi the caravan or tents which will depend on how many people we are at the moment you arrive! Otherwise there is the possibility to sleep in your own or one of our tends. Maybe as soon as the big living room is ready there will be extra place indoor. There is an indoor shower but we are going to avoid using it until we have our water restoration system set up so for now we all use the outdoor fancy bucket shower which was built by previous volunteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Placed on the beautiful, wild and charming westside of the Algarve. In Aljezur (20 min by car) you can find everything else you need like restaurants, supermarket, banks, postoffice, bars, shops, etc. In spring and summertime it turns into a sweet and busy town with a lot of travelers passing by. Lagos is a bit further (30 minutes by car) and is a more touristy city with many bars, events, restaurants etc. Also there are quiet some festivals and events happening when the season gets warmer ;) You can catch buses to other place you may want to visit from Aljezur and Lagos.

    It is important for you to know that we tend to spend the weekends (from Friday to Sunday) out and about for surfing, playing music, or work. If you have your own vehicle you are free to move by yourselves during those days otherwise you can either join us or stay on the land and have some time for yourselves in the peaceful valley.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 15 hours a week - food partially provided

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (4.5)




Host ref number: 224641485749